Telon SPA

All other tools like QACenter, Strobe, Endevor, Telon, APAS, Scheduler, Auditor, DATA-XPERT, CoolGen, Intertest, AdvantageGen, COBTEST etc.

Telon SPA

Postby nina2222 » Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:22 pm

I was just handed a Telon program. Told to make some modifications. They have no documentation here.
I have my changes in. Also added new field to the map. I am struggling with this SPA. I am running thru DEBUG.
My background is CICS. I am struggling but getting this tested. However....can someone please give me a brief explanation of what they call the SPA and how it is used?
nina2222

Re: Telon SPA

Postby Akatsukami » Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:49 pm

Is not TELON a code generator rather than a language in itself? What is the source language and the data base system being used? (PL/I and IMS DB/DC would be my guess from what you say, but that's little enough that I could easily be wrong.)
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
Akatsukami
Global moderator

Postby nina2222 » Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:54 pm

It is COBOL, IMS.
nina2222

Postby Akatsukami » Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:29 pm

The context suggests that "SPA" stands for Scratch Pad Area -- a chunk of memory where data may be stored between transactions; think of it as containing all the persistent data that would cause the program to be non-reeentrant if it were in working storage.

I'm afraid that, as the name suggests, the SPA is unformatted storage to be used however the programmer desires. If undocumented, it's necessary to know the copybook(s) for the SPA and the code using it.

If Anuj Dhawan sees this, he may have something more meaningful to say.
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
Akatsukami