Test called program without the calling program

Support for CICS/ESA, CICS/TS & Transaction Gateway, CICS Configuration Manager and CICS Performance Analyzer

Test called program without the calling program

Postby bryan_lab » Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:12 am

Hi,

I'm quite new to CICS programming.

I have this Program B that is being linked by Program A. I wanted to test it but the problem is Program A will come from a different application and they haven't started it.
So instead of just waiting for them to finish it (We have no idea when will they start), I decided to test my program. But I don't know how to do it. I mean I cannot create a dummy CICS program that will just pass data to my Program B because I need to define the tran-id. Our system programmer will not define it just for the sake of my testing.

Is there any other way for me to pass data to Program B just to test it? I know that tran-id and the program are both tied together. If I create a new CICS program just to pass data, is there a way to execute it without defining a tran-id?

By the way, my Program B have CICS commands that updates VSAM files.

I have already google my question but it seems that all of them points to XCTL, LINK, etc.

Thanks.
Bryan
bryan_lab

Re: Test called program without the calling program

Postby Aki88 » Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:26 pm

Hello Bryan,

bryan_lab wrote:Hi,
.... create a dummy CICS program that will just pass data to my Program B because I need to define the tran-id. ......

Is there any other way for me to pass data to Program B just to test it? I know that tran-id and the program are both tied together. If I create a new CICS program just to pass data, is there a way to execute it without defining a tran-id? .........

A quick solution can be, writing a batch COBOL program with: CBL XOPTS(EXCI)
This program will build the required LINKAGE/COMMAREA variables, and perform the requisite pre-processing required for the 'B' program.