Re:Creating a tool for Cobol standards

IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Re:Creating a tool for Cobol standards

Postby balacsv1 » Mon May 09, 2016 9:12 pm

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to REXX and I am assigned to develop a rexx tool which should check if the programmer has followed cobol standards. In the process I need to check the following for which I need some help and your valuable inputs
a)A Para must have a period only at the end of it, I need to find a way to identify if it's not followed
b)All the paragraphs must have an exit Para with an exit statement
C)usage of negative conditional statements need to be identified.

Looking forward to your inputs or ideas.
balacsv1

Re: Re:Creating a tool for Cobol standards

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Mon May 09, 2016 9:16 pm

Looking forward to your inputs or ideas.

good luck !

if You are new to rexx You have been assigned a task above Your skill level

anyway ...
first the logic,
after that the coding
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator

Postby Pedro » Mon May 09, 2016 9:37 pm

1. read the program using EXECIO and save to a stem variable.

2. make multiple passes through all of the program statements. The first pass is to remove any comments. That is, replace with blanks. I have had problems with language keywords being in comments. Possibly also translate other statements to uppercase.

3. Use a 'Do' loop to scan all program statements.

4 Examine each program statement. Use the POS() built-in function to see if a particular keyword is in the current statement. Then use PARSE to look for proper syntax.
Pedro Vera
Pedro

Postby Robert Sample » Mon May 09, 2016 10:14 pm

I am quite new to REXX and I am assigned to develop a rexx tool