Useful Projects for those new to REXX and the Mainframe

IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Useful Projects for those new to REXX and the Mainframe

Postby burn2k » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:15 pm

Hi all,

A quick introduction - I'm new to the mainframe and I'm working in a team of experienced mainframe system programmers and have been learning some of the basics of ISPF/TSO/MVS and I'm looking to expand my knowledge of REXX and utility programming in general. Unfortunatley I often feel that my collegaues have forgotten what it's like to be completely new to the mainframe world and don't understand the best bottom up approach to learning.

I'm trying to be pro-active and get some ideas for people new to the platform and REXX in particular - some useful and interesting things that are worth considering... what are the things that all good sys-progs using REXX should know and should program for themselves....

perhaps some ideas for a simple engaging project that can be used as a good learning tool and is something to build upon - as I know that I will have to train others

for example game ideas/useful utilities that are engaging - and I'd like to be clear in that I'm not asking for code I'd just like some pointers on some good projects that may even have been attempted before that would be good to engage others... as the big barrier to learning any language is not having something to program and a great boon to learning is having a slighly off the wall idea to work on (and some of the IBM redbook material is fairly dry and quite frankly uninspiring).

I realise this is slightly off topic but any advice/tips or hints would be greatly appreciated :)
burn2k

Re: Useful Projects for those new to REXX and the Mainframe

Postby Akatsukami » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:25 pm

I recommend looking at the Rosetta Code page for Rexx.