Using While loop

Help for C/C++ for MVS, OS/390 C/C++, z/OS C/C++ and C/C++ Productivity Tools for OS/390

Using While loop

Postby Sabreen Khan » Sat Mar 01, 2008 2:30 pm

float a=10.0;
while (a<=10.5)
{
printf("\nrain drop ");
printf("and whiskers");
a=a+0.1;
}

When i run this program, it should give me an output of 6 lines but it only gives an output of 5 lines. However, when i use double instead of float, i get the expected output i.e 6 lines. Can anyone tell me why?

by the way, im just a beginner in this language.
Sabreen Khan

Re: Using While loop

Postby dick scherrer » Sat Mar 01, 2008 10:23 pm

Hello Sabreen Khan and welcome to the forums,

by the way, im just a beginner in this language.
I haven't even begun working in "c" yet. . . :)

However, you don't want to use float for small numbers requiring high precision. There are often "problems". . .

Here is something i posted in another forum some time ago:

At the heart of many strange results is one fundamental: floating-point on computers is usually base 2, whereas the external representation is base 10. We expect that 1/3 will not be exactly representable, but it seems intuitive that .01 would be. Not so! .01 in IEEE single-precision format is exactly 10737418/1073741824 or approximately 0.009999999776482582. You might not even notice this difference until you see a bit of code like the following:
REAL X
DATA X /.01/
IF ( X * 100.d0 .NE. 1.0 ) THEN
   PRINT *, 'Many systems print this surprising result. '
ELSE
   PRINT *, 'And some may print this.'
ENDIF

Floating-point arithmetic on digital computers is inherently inexact. The 24 bits (including the hidden bit) of mantissa in a 32-bit floating-point number represent approximately 7 significant decimal digits. Unlike the real number system, which is continuous, a floating-point system has gaps between each number. If a number is not exactly representable, then it must be approximated by one of the nearest representable values.