Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.



Unicenter CA-7 Job Management: CA's workload automation tool for managing, visualizing, automating, optimizing applications

Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby balaji_shc » Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:09 pm

Hello everyone,

I need answer for the below question,

User has placed job in his own library. He just wanna to run the job from his own library rather than using Ca7 library. please provide me a answer for this.

Thanks
Balaji
balaji_shc
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

 

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:15 pm

please provide me a answer for this.
An answer to WHAT? There is no question asked, merely a statement of intention -- so nothing to respond to.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3367
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: East Dubuque, Illinois
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 222 times

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Thu Jul 14, 2011 11:50 pm

the best advice You can get is...
ask the powers of Your organization, submitting jobs outside of the endorsed setup
is frowned upon by most organizations, and might be cause for lawful termination.
and Yourself incur the same risk for advising on how to do it!
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2643
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby Peter_Mann » Fri Jul 15, 2011 1:32 am

I'll take a guess what your question is. A user or organizaion wants to use CA-7 as the scheduler, but not use a CA-7 production JCLLIB?
I think CA-7 still has personal scheduler, last time I looked it was still an option, RTMs, there's some security to setup for users to use PS without letting them in the production schedules and jobs.
HTH
Peter
Peter
Peter_Mann
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 7:37 pm
Location: Lowell,AR
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby balaji_shc » Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:41 am

Thanks Peter
balaji_shc
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby dnasee86 » Thu Jan 05, 2012 2:02 pm

Hi,
in order to run a job from user requested lib you can Fetch the job in DB.7 and type the job name in Member field and type the jcl ID from which you want to fetch the job... u can get the id by typing command /display,st=jcl(this command will show all lib no.). once u enter it will fetch in that library then u can run the job by replacing RUN in function field. Make sure this will only work if job is not in user lib but if job is in user lib all u need to do is to find the index no by typing /display,st=jcl and demand the job with same jcl index id.
suppose i want to demand job from mb.test.jcllib... its index no. is 99 so demand command would be like this.
DEMAND,JOB=ABXXXXC,JCLID=99,SCHD=199

Hope this will help you....
dnasee86
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby kchidambara2 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:27 am

hi,

Ask you programmer for index numbere of dsn where he saved the job or you can give below cmd

/display,st=jcl


************************
QUAL.EMER.JCLLIB 005
PROD.****.JCLLIB 000
VJ0.******.JCLLIB 001
C04.****.JCLLIB 009


EX: if his lib is C04.****.JCLLIB and it's index is 009
So u can either fetch the job or demand it
for fetch

issue JCL in ca7 below is the output

FUNCTION: (APPEND,CLEAR,DELETE,EDIT,FE,FETCH,
RENAME,REPL,RUN,RUNH,SAVE)

MEMBER: NEWNAME/OPTION:

DSN: JCL-ID:
VOLSER: JCLLIB:

Issue fetch and type the index number 009 before to JCL-ID -> enter (u can see ca7 msg as "job fetch")
Remove fetch before the FUCNTION and type as RUN -> enter ( u cans see ca7 msg as job submited)

Revert me if u have doubt , thanks katy :)

ACTIVE SIZE: 0000
kchidambara2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 6:33 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby Robert Sample » Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:40 am

kchidambara2 , after 9 1/2 months you really think the answer is going to help? Besides, you're talking CA-7 stuff and the question was about running from a library outside CA-7. The answer, by the way, is to just do a TSO submit AS LONG AS the job has no CA-7 special things (such as using CARPROC or #SCC, etc) in the JCL. Of course, the job might not run depending upon the user id having the right authority for the job's data sets, but that's a different issue.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3367
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: East Dubuque, Illinois
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 222 times

Re: Need to run job from user lib rather than using ca7 lib.

Postby Ed Goodman » Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:15 pm

Balaji,
As you can see, there is still a question about exactly what you are trying to do.

Do you want to use CA-7 to run a job which is stored in a user library?
Or
Do you wish to run a job manually from a user library?
Ed Goodman
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:05 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 17 times


Return to CA-7

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post