length of Parm Parameter



Support for OS/VS COBOL, VS COBOL II, COBOL for OS/390 & VM and Enterprise COBOL for z/OS

length of Parm Parameter

Postby electrox » Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:03 am

The maximum limit for parm parameter is 100 characters ,when input length exceeds waht shall be done , I'm asked to use parm parameter to pass input?
electrox
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: length of Parm Parameter

 

Re: Parm Parameter

Postby MrSpock » Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:16 am

A limit is a limit. Come up with another plan.
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Parm Parameter

Postby steve-myers » Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:54 am

As Mr Spock says, a limit is a limit; you need another plan. I can think of several options. All have been used at one time or another.
  • Abbreviations. This often makes the option text more or less unintelligible, but ... You have to alter the program to use the abbreviations.
  • Provide an options dataset. The downside here is you can't use JCL symbols to form the option text, and you have to alter the program to use the dataset.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1886
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 197 times

Re: Parm Parameter

Postby BillyBoyo » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:29 pm

If you have some options which are basically "static" you can combine approaches. Put the static options on a dataset, keep the varying options on the PARM (abbreviating as necessary, as Steve suggested). The extra code to work with both is minimal, and it would allow any paramaterisation of your paramameters to continue through the JCL.

As Mr Spock and Steve have indicated, you have absolutely zero chance of somehow finding a method to go beyond 100 on the parm itself.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: Parm Parameter

Postby electrox » Fri Apr 29, 2011 4:52 pm

Thanks.. One of my trainee said some kind of Arith Code can be used along with Parm parameter when input limit exceeds than 100.He said only working people handle with this method.
electrox
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Parm Parameter

Postby BillyBoyo » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:16 pm

So, tell him to put-up-or-shut-up. If you find anything interesting, update us.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: Parm Parameter

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:22 pm

Thanks.. One of my trainee said some kind of Arith Code can be used along with Parm parameter when input limit exceeds than 100.He said only working people handle with this method.


ok for the language barrier, but too much is too much ,
would You care to translate to an intelligible sentence!

anyway trying to submit a job/jcl with a parm longer than 100 chars will result in a jcl error

works
000001 //ENRICO1  JOB NOTIFY=&SYSUID,
000002 //             REGION=0M,
000003 //             MSGLEVEL=(1,1),CLASS=A,MSGCLASS=X
000004 //*
000005 //IEF     EXEC PGM=IEFBR14,
=COLS> ----+----1----+----2----+----3----+----4----+----5----+----6----+----7--
000006 // PARM='12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012
000007 //             34567890123456789012345678901234567890'


does not ( jcl error)
000001 //ENRICO1  JOB NOTIFY=&SYSUID,
000002 //             REGION=0M,
000003 //             MSGLEVEL=(1,1),CLASS=A,MSGCLASS=X
000004 //*
000005 //IEF     EXEC PGM=IEFBR14,
=COLS> ----+----1----+----2----+----3----+----4----+----5----+----6----+----7--
000006 // PARM='12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012
000007 //             345678901234567890123456789012345678901'


look out for the long parm continuation rule ...
fill the first line up to column 71
start the second line at column 16
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: Parm Parameter

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:38 pm

follow on...
I forgot to post ...
-  29 APR 2011 JOB EXECUTION DATE
-            7 CARDS READ
-           24 SYSOUT PRINT RECORDS
-            0 SYSOUT PUNCH RECORDS
-            1 SYSOUT SPOOL KBYTES
-         0.00 MINUTES EXECUTION TIME
1 //ENRICO1  JOB NOTIFY=&SYSUID,
//             REGION=0M,
//             MSGLEVEL=(1,1),CLASS=A,MSGCLASS=X
//*
IEFC653I SUBSTITUTION JCL - NOTIFY=ENRICO,REGION=0M,MSGLEVEL=(1,1),CL
2 //IEF     EXEC PGM=IEFBR14,
// PARM='123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890
//             345678901234567890123456789012345678901'
STMT NO. MESSAGE
-
2 IEF642I EXCESSIVE PARAMETER LENGTH IN THE PARM FIELD
 
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2644
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 130 times


Return to IBM Cobol

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post