SET Return code for MAXCC in JCL



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby dick scherrer » Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:25 pm

Hello,

I'd love to know the story behind the scenes - I agree it seems as if it could be a potential disaster for all of the production support and/or scheduling teams out there.
I suspect this is happening because there are less and less qualified people coming into the field. . . And they want more and more different ways to do rather straightforward/simple things (guess the "creativity" thing has resurfaced). I've actually had some of these newer entries into the field complain that they shouldn't have to follow standards. . .

If there are multiple ways provided to implement poorly, less will be held accountable for delivering quality work.

Maybe this is just a way to be more "open". . . And soon there may be no controls - just let everyone do whatever they want :? Kinda like in Win-land. . .
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6304
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 91 times

Re: Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

 

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby Akatsukami » Wed Sep 07, 2011 3:26 pm

This could be some high-functioning sociopath at IBM providing a way to make one of my predictions come true: a sloppily-implemented change takes down a major data center, leading to a lot of "software engineers" staring at each other in helpless horror...leading to some qualified people, maybe ex-IBMers, coming in a lakh or two of rupees per day each to fix things...

(FTR, I haven't worked at IBM in nearly a decade.)
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby BillyBoyo » Wed Sep 07, 2011 3:36 pm

Akatsukami wrote:leading to some qualified people, maybe ex-IBMers, coming in a lakh or two of rupees per day each to fix things...


Akatsukami wrote:(FTR, I haven't worked at IBM in nearly a decade.)


Mmmm....

Anyway, on the new topic which has overtaken the original, I have a suggestion.

How about we just don't tell anyone when they ask? We just smile, inscrutably if we can, and suggest they tell us what they really want to do, and then guide them to an "old school" solution?

After all, if we don't say anything, and we know most people don't even read the manuals, the status quo may persist, at least in the short term :-)
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby Akatsukami » Thu Sep 08, 2011 12:44 am

BillyBoyo wrote:
Akatsukami wrote:leading to some qualified people, maybe ex-IBMers, coming in a lakh or two of rupees per day each to fix things...


Akatsukami wrote:(FTR, I haven't worked at IBM in nearly a decade.)


Mmmm....

But I have a perfectly good job that I am not inclined to quit for a contract paying me Rs. 1-2 lakh/day :)

Now, if I were offered a contract paying Rs. 1-2 crore/day... :mrgreen:
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1054
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby krupagk » Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:55 pm

is it possible to do the same in z/OS 01.11.00 version ?
krupagk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby BillyBoyo » Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:05 pm

MrSpock wrote:It seems as if you haven't kept up-to-date with the latest changes to JCL for z/OS v1R13:

Changes made in z/OS Version 1 Release 13
New information:
“JOBRC Parameter” on page 404 is a new parameter on the JOB statement to
control how the job return code (presented by JES2 or JES3) is determined.

JOBRC Parameter

Use the JOBRC parameter to control how the job completion code (presented by
JES2 or JES3) is set. By default (when JOBRC is not specified), the job completion
code is set to the highest return code of any step, or if the job's execution fails
because of an ABEND, the job completion code is set to the last ABEND code;
however, this parameter can be used to request that the job completion code be set
to the return code of the last exe.

JOBRC= {MAXRC|LASTRC|(STEP,stepname[.procstepname]}

MAXRC
The job completion code is set to the highest return code of any step in the job,
or if the completion of the job fails because of an ABEND, the job completion
code is set to the last ABEND code; This is the default parameter.
LASTRC
The job completion code is set to the return code or ABEND code of the last
step that is executed in the job.
(STEP,stepname[.procstepname])
The job completion code is set to the return code or ABEND code of the step
that is indicated by the stepname.[.procstepname] parameter. If this step does
not exist, a JCL error is generated. If this step does not execute, the processing
is the same as if MAXRC is specified.



If you mean is it possible to do the above in 1.11, I suggest you re-read the above and you will have your answer.

If you mean something else, better to start a new topic rather than attaching yours to an old one.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby BillyBoyo » Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:07 pm

I just see that you've posted a question in the other forum. That'll bring you trouble. Don't do it again. Choose where to post and rely on that until responses exhausted. We don't like providing help if you don't trust our answers.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:33 pm

is it possible to do the same in z/OS 01.11.00 version ?


what is that You did not understand/was not clear here

Changes made in z/OS Version 1 Release 13
New information:
“JOBRC Parameter” on page 404 is a new parameter on the JOB statement to
control how the job return code (presented by JES2 or JES3) is determined.
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2648
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby krupagk » Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:27 pm

Hi,

I am using z/OS 01.11 version, but when i using JOBRC it is abending with JCL error. Is it not possible to use JOBRC in earlier verions of Z/OS other than 1.13

Regards
krupagk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: SET return code for MAXCC in JCL

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Nov 15, 2011 10:29 pm

I am using z/OS 01.11 version, but when i using JOBRC it is abending with JCL error. Is it not possible to use JOBRC in earlier verions of Z/OS other than 1.13

are You asking or what ?
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2648
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 132 times

PreviousNext

Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post