Rename PS files through JCL



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Rename PS files through JCL

Postby kothai » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:34 pm

Please let me know the JCL for renaming a file
I have a big list of files to be renamed everyday; so i am trying to create a job which will reduce typo errors
kothai
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rename PS files through JCL

 

Re: Rename PS files - JCL

Postby MrSpock » Fri Dec 04, 2009 3:41 pm

1. What command/process do you currently use to rename datasets?

2. Can't you just batch it to do it in bulk?
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Rename PS files - JCL

Postby kothai » Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:43 pm

Right now I am using 3.4 option, I dont find a batch JCL of it
We can rename using TSO RENAME option, but I dont know how to specify these in a JCL
kothai
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rename PS files - JCL

Postby MrSpock » Fri Dec 04, 2009 5:39 pm

Start with this previous topic. The methods are still the same.

Here's another one.

I'll search for some more ...
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post