Looking for ideas to utilise my IBM RDZ environment

Ask about System customization & performance, Workload management, I/O device configuration etc.

Looking for ideas to utilise my IBM RDZ environment

Postby deucalion0 » Sat Aug 02, 2014 5:39 pm

I work for a company as a junior Systems Programmer, I have been given an IBM RDZ environment to play with to help me learn the zOS operating system. My problem is, what to do with this? I want to install products using SMPE, I want to get into the nuts and bolts of zOS and fully utilize this amazing tool but I have no real clue where to start. I have no manager to direct me, I am left to experiment myself.

Can anyone suggest tasks for me to do? Things I can do to build my experience of zOS? Installing products is tricky because of license agreements etc, are there any products that are free which would expose me to the the full end to end scope of an installation?

What would you do if you had this system to play with?

I want to learn things such as the process of installing zOS from scratch or tuning a part of the system, building ISPF panels, writing automation scripts, create started tasks, things that I cannot do on production systems.

For anyone that does not know what RDZ is, you can read about it here http://www-03.ibm.com/software/products/en/developerforsystemz

It is basically my own zOS environment running on my laptop inside a virtual machine, it is a full zOS installation I believe.

I will experiment with anything you can suggest and let you know how I get on. My goal is to build knowledge and skills so I can become a successful Systems programmer ;)

Thank you!
deucalion0

Re: Looking for ideas to utilise my IBM RDZ environment

Postby steve-myers » Sun Aug 03, 2014 1:24 am

Most of what a systems programmer does any more is
  • Problem analysis