systems programmer role and jobs

Ask about System customization & performance, Workload management, I/O device configuration etc.

systems programmer role and jobs

Postby deucalion0 » Sat May 23, 2015 4:14 am

Hello all,

I apologise if I have posted this in the wrong place, I felt this was the correct place due to my question being about system programming.

OK, I will start by saying I graduated with a computer science degree, took a job with a massive IT company and was to become part of the company's brand new initiative to get young graduates into mainframe to ensure they would have people to support the mainframe in the future. They gave us a choice of roles, db2, cics, ims, automation,hardware or systems programming. I knew straight away I wanted to be a systems programmer and almost two years into my career I'm very happy and very challenged, I have learnt so much and continue to do so every day, I love working on the mainframe!

My issue is, I have less than 2 years production experience, my company is not heading in a direction that looks good for me keeping my job, I am worried I will not get another job with so little experience. I actually cannot find any jobs for mainframe systems programmer, those keywords bring back hundreds of software programming jobs or many other non mainframe systems programmer type jobs. Even the ones that are for mainframe are usually security or db2 or cics. Am I not looking in the right place? I mainly Google for jobs, or use indeed or monster. Is there another title that can be used instead of system's programmer?