IODF knowledge.

Ask about System customization & performance, Workload management, I/O device configuration etc.

IODF knowledge.

Postby Viswanathchandru » Fri Nov 18, 2011 11:15 am

Dear all!
I have been given a task of creating a new IODF. To be very honest i dont have full knowledge on IODF and IOCDS. I dont want to depend on KT as they will give the content on what i should work alone and i wont be able to get a global knowledge. I would like to know something about IODF and i tried Google and it landed in some infocenter topics. It was good but i would need to know the basics. Can anyone help me on this. Any useful links/documents/ideas would be really helpful for me in gaining knowledge. Not sure whether this is the rite place to put this question. If this is not please transfer this question to related post. Apologies if i'm wrong.

Thanks,
Viswa
Viswanathchandru

Re: IODF knowledge.

Postby mongan » Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:08 pm

I have been a system programmer for almost 40 years and I would not dare to work with the IODF without someone looking over my shoulder that has already worked with it and knows the configuration. So, in my opinion you definitely need to talk to someone in your shop, you also need to know the hardware configuration of your shop.
mongan

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:09 pm

why not look at the IBM HCD manuals
starting from here
http://www-03.ibm.com/systems/z/os/zos/ ... index.html
and clicking on the link for Your zOS level ?

I was going to make the same remark about the lack of skill but since the TS told us
I have been given a task of creating a new IODF.
somebody over there knows better than us :geek:
so why should we waste time worrying and advising on good practices and friends ?
nobody will care about them anyway ;)
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,