Page 1 of 1

Getting Input Variable

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:50 pm
by fuuss
Hello

I am still facing a little problem
I just wrote a job that starts a Rexx program with a special parameter, this works great but the next step of my program is
that I can input the JCL with the parameter like "sub FTPPT 081207 and this variable, if it is <> '' will be passed over to the Rexx

//* JOB STATEMENT                                       
//S1 EXEC PGM=IKJEFT1A,DYNAMNBR=200       
//SYSEXEC DD DSN=CISYSCL.REXX.EXEC,DISP=SHR             
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                 
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*                                 
//SYSTSIN DD *                                         
%FTPPT2 12121212
/*



Fuuss

Re: Getting Input Variable

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:28 pm
by MrSpock
I honestly don't understand your question.

All I can say at this point is that all of the steps of a job are independent from each other. Data can't be passed from one step to another. It has to be stored externally (i.e. in a dataset). Only then can it be shared.

Re: Getting Input Variable

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:39 pm
by fuuss
So it is not possible to start the JCL with a parameter like "JCLPRG 120979"
I did this already with a RExx but I am searching the same in JCL
EX REx
/* rexx */       
PARSE ARG tempd /


with this parse i can input a variable

I hope I explained it better

Thanks

Re: Getting Input Variable

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:56 am
by MrSpock
Are you talking about using the JCL SET statement to assign a value to a variable to be used within the JCL?

Re: Getting Input Variable

PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:40 pm
by Bill Dennis
You cannot supply a JCL variable and have it inserted into a control statement for SYSTSIN. If you have a fixed number of values, you could create control members in a PDS and point to the member name using a symbolic variable.
//SYSTSIN  DD DSN=my.ftp.pds(#081208),DISP=SHR

Re: Getting Input Variable

PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:05 pm
by fuuss
Hmm ok thanks for the replies

I found a solution I will take in the string from a file
//FILE JCLLIB  ORDER=(CISYSCL.JOB.FTP.CNTL)
//     INCLUDE MEMBER=FTPFILE       


Thank you very much