Page 1 of 1

Move the dataset from one volume to other

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 5:13 pm
by ananth86
Hi

I have a Sequential dataset and I have to move that from volume T4LSE1 to T4LSE2
Here is the code its giving me syntax error. whats the error exactly I cudnt find out


//ANANTH1 JOB NOTIFY=&SYSUID                   
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEHMOVE                       
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=A                         
//SYSUT1 DD UNIT=SYSDA,VOL=SER=T4LSE1,DISP=OLD
//SYSIN DD *                                   
  MOVE DSNAME='ANANTH.SEQFIL',TO=SYSDA=T4LSE2,CATLG   


And more thing can I perform the same with ADRDSSU utility also?

Re: Move the dataset from one volume to other

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:12 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

One easy way to do what you want is to copy the dataset to a new name on the target volume.

Once you have verified that the copy was successful, rename to original to some backup name and rename the new file to the original dsn.

When there is no longer a need for the backup, delete the original file fro the original volume.

Re: Move the dataset from one volume to other

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:32 pm
by ananth86
Yeah wat u r saying may work fine...
But I want to know wat is the error in the code..
This program does everything u mentioned in a single step, right?

i want to know wats wrong with my code..

Re: Move the dataset from one volume to other

PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:32 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

i want to know wats wrong with my code..

The IEHMOVE syntax appears completely incomplete :) . . . Did you refer to the IBM manual or did you just make something up?

Suggest you look here:
http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/ ... 0/CONTENTS?

Post your jcl, control info, and diagnostic info generated including any message ids if the new control info you create does not work.

Re: Move the dataset from one volume to other

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:25 pm
by expat
Why on earth are you using IEHMOVE ?

IEBGENER, ICEGENER, SORT, DFdss ...............

And if the volumes are SMS managed you also need access to a guaranteed space steorage class to honour the volser request for output.

Re: Move the dataset from one volume to other

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 3:06 pm
by Anuj Dhawan
IEHMOVE provides facilities for moving or copying data sets. In most cases, IEHMOVE should not be the utility of choice. However, if a dataset has been unloaded with IEHMOVE, it should be loaded with IEHMOVE, and vice versa. And You cannot use IEHMOVE with PDSEs or ISAM or VSAM data sets.

If you do use IEHMOVE to move or copy data sets to SMS-managed volumes, I hope you take care about these: you must preallocate all the target data sets. If the data set you are copying or moving is cataloged, and you are moving or copying it to an SMS-managed volume, you must rename the data set.

Re: Move the dataset from one volume to other

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 4:55 pm
by expat
Not to mention being authorised to use a "Guaranteed Space" STORCLAS to be able to specify the output volume in an SMS environment.