Dynamic space allocation for output datasets



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Dynamic space allocation for output datasets

Postby Diver Dave » Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:44 am

Any suggestions on how to dynamically create the space parameter for a given dataset? Specifically, I want to dynamically create the primary and seconday space allocations in a statement like:
SPACE=(CYL,(10,10),RLSE)

instead of having to actually code a specific value as is done here. (CYL,(10,10),RLSE)
Diver Dave
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dynamic space allocation for output datasets

Postby dick scherrer » Tue Nov 27, 2007 1:08 am

Hello Dave and welcome to the forums,

What part of the allocation do you want to be dynamic? Not sure i understand the question. . .

You can generate jcl and submit it via the internal reader, but i suspect that is not what you are looking for.

Let's say file1 will have 1000 records written to it. Let's say file2 will have 10million records written to it. Do you want the system automagically allocate the "right" volume for both files?
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Dynamic space allocation for output datasets

Postby MrSpock » Tue Nov 27, 2007 1:23 am

Isn't this why SMS (System Managed Storage) is usually used?
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Dynamic space allocation for output datasets

Postby dick scherrer » Tue Nov 27, 2007 2:56 am

Hello,

If you are interested in SMS, i'd suggest you spend some time with the storage management people.

You can define different DATACLASs, but you still have to define them. Most organizations do not let people outside of the storage management group to define SMS entries.

If only some of your system's dasd is sms-managed (which is quite common), you still need to specify space.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Dynamic space allocation for output datasets

Postby Lina » Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:33 am

Hi,

You can give a SPACE parm like SPACE=(&A,(&B,&C),RLSE)

Define A,B,C values in the JCLstep where you are calling this proc.

Thanks,
Lina
Lina
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dynamic space allocation for output datasets

Postby Diver Dave » Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:34 pm

Thank you all! I will investigate our SMS environment further. Also, I will look into the use of symbolics as suggested by Lina. Thanks for all the input.
Diver Dave
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 12:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post