Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code

Postby manivas » Tue Mar 18, 2008 3:26 pm

I have maximum number of steps(say 70steps). I need to execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code?Please give me the sample code? :)
manivas
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code

Postby arunprasad.k » Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:33 pm

I need to execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code?


You can do this only by coding COND=(99,NE) in all the even or odd step to prevent it from executing.

Alternatively you can have all the even step in one proc and odd step in another proc and one COND parameter and skip the steps.

If this is not what you are looking for, post your requirements clearly.

Arun.
arunprasad.k
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 5:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code

Postby dick scherrer » Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:05 am

Hello,

If i understand what you want to do, you cannot do it.

I may not understand what you want to do. . .

What kind of process is supported by this "rule"? It really makes little or no sense. If you always want one set or the other, use 2 jobs. . .

Or, as Arun posted, explain what you want more clearly.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code

Postby MrSpock » Thu Mar 20, 2008 3:34 am

This question appears with alarming frequency, although I don't know if it's supposed to be an interview question, or someone's idea of a gag on the unsuspecting rookie.

The only obvious answer is that the source JCL has to be passed through an edit routine to either remove or comment-out the steps that are be be skipped.
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code

Postby manivas » Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:31 pm

Thanks all... for your reply. One of my friend faced this question in an interview. That's why i have posted.
manivas
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code

Postby dick scherrer » Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:49 pm

Hello,

I don't know if it's supposed to be an interview question, or someone's idea of a gag on the unsuspecting rookie
I suspect it is both. . . Bummer.

Thanks all... for your reply. One of my friend faced this question in an interview. That's why i have posted.
You're welcome :)

Yes, often interviewers (especially for candidates with little or no experience) ask some (IMHO) really bad questions. Unfortunately, the candidate has to act respectful to these questions.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code

Postby pcdoctor » Sun Mar 23, 2008 11:44 pm

Can IEBEDIT be a convincing trick for this case?
pcdoctor
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Execute only odd or even number steps witout condition code

Postby dick scherrer » Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:06 pm

Hello,

Not by specifying odd or even. . .

You can specify steps to be executed, but iebedit does not know about odd/even.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post