Force a return Code



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Force a return Code

Postby maragatham pp » Mon May 23, 2011 1:01 pm

Hi, My job executes FILEAID to copy certain records of a file into other. When there is no record found, matching the selection criteria this step returns RC 8.

But, my requirement is that, "no record found" situation is acceptable and the job has to end with RC 0.
I tried the below code:

//STEP01 EXEC PGM=FILEAID
.....
....
// IF STEP01.RC = 8 THEN
//STEP02 EXEC PGM=IDCAMS
//SYSPRINT DD=*
SET MAXCC = 0
// ENDIF

Although STEP02 was executed the RC from the job was 8.

Please advice.
maragatham pp
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 12:44 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Force a return Code

Postby NicC » Mon May 23, 2011 1:06 pm

You cannot change the return code of a completed step. You will have to check the FIle-Aid documentation to see if you can pass a parameter or control card to set the return code to what you want. If you cannot then you are stuck with what you have - as per several other posts.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Force a return Code

Postby Robert Sample » Mon May 23, 2011 3:16 pm

MAXCC changes only the return code for the IDCAMS step -- it does not affect the return codes of any other steps. As Nic said, once a step executes that return code is fixed and cannot be changed by anything.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Force a return Code

Postby dick scherrer » Mon May 23, 2011 11:55 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum,

If you need something other than what a utility will provide, suggest you consider a small program that will function as you want . . .
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Force a return Code

Postby BillyBoyo » Tue May 24, 2011 2:56 am

As Nic and Robert have said, you can't change the value of a return-code from a completed step. Either, as Nic suggested, check out the File-Aid documentation to see if there is any way to "turn off" the return-code from there. Or, change whatever it is, either human or program, that is seeing the "08" for the job and not being happy. If you search this forum you'll see there was a big topic on this a few weeks back. What you want can't be done. So you have to come up with something else.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post