Page 1 of 1

RC=8 Copying members from pds to another

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:44 am
by xboss
Return code = 8 while trying to copy some members from one pds to another, below is my JCL and Output
 //xxxxxxxx JOB (TST),'xxxxx/s',CLASS=5,MSGCLASS=X,                 
 //             NOTIFY=&SYSUID                                         
 //STEPNAME EXEC PGM=IEBCOPY,REGION=4M                                 
 /*JOBPARM SYSAFF=*,LINES=99                                           
 //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                                 
 //SYSUT1   DD DSN=INPUT.DSN,DISP=SHR                     
 //SYSUT2   DD DSN=OUTPUT.DSN,DISP=SHR                                                                 
 //SYSUT3   DD UNIT=VIO,SPACE=(CYL,(10))                               
 //SYSUT4   DD UNIT=VIO,SPACE=(CYL,(10))                               
 //SYSIN    DD *                                                       
   COPYMOD INDD=SYSUT1,OUTDD=SYSUT2                                     
   SELECT MEMBER=(MEMBER1,MEMBER2,MEMBER3,MEMBER4,MEMBER5)
 /*                                                                     


Output

FCO100I PDSMAN FASTCOPY PROCESSING ACTIVE     08/02/2011   15:11:29  JOBNAME XXXXXXXX
FCO105I   COPYMOD INDD=SYSUT1,OUTDD=SYSUT2                                     
FCO105I   SELECT MEMBER=(MEMBER1,MEMBER2,MEMBER3,MEMBER4,MEMBER5)
FCO415A RECFM=U REQUIRED FOR COPYMOD OR ALTERMOD                               
FCO419A OPERATION TERMINATED                                                   
FCO210U STORAGE        0K ALLOC     0K USED                                   


Help me out....

Re: RC=8 Copying members from pds to another

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:50 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Help me out....
Probably lucky i got here first - we don't do demands so well . . . :(


It appears that IEBCOPY is being replaced by PDSMAN/FASTCOPY.

The recfm=u message seems quite clear. . .

Re: copying members from pds

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:57 am
by steve-myers
The FCO415A message tells you your real problem. The COPYMOD command is only for load modules in a PDS, which must be defined as RECFM=U. An argument can be made the program should have reverted to a COPY command and done your copy, but it didn't. I do hope both the source and target datasets are compatible with each other!

Re: RC=8 Copying members from pds to another

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:01 am
by dick scherrer
Hi Steve,

Thanks for the clarification :)

d

Re: RC=8 Copying members from pds to another

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:15 am
by xboss
Thanks Dick and Steve. I got it.