IEH progm control card error



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

IEH progm control card error

Postby gowthamgyaa » Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:52 pm

Hi everyone,
I need your guidance in clearing the following error which shown while executing a IEHPROG, I ll provide you the JCL statements below,

//JOB STATEMENT
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEHPROGM
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1 DD VOL=SER=ASMS04,UNIT=3390,DISP=SHR
//SYSIN DD *
RENAME=*****.TECH.EMP,VOL=3390=ASMS04,
NEWNAME=*****.TECHIN.EMP
/*
//


It shows me the following error,
Info in the control statement not sufficient so program not called.


I kindly request you to debug this and guide me the same

Kind regard's
gyaa
gowthamgyaa
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:18 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:03 pm

You did not use the Code tag on your statements so it is not possible to tell exactly which column your statements are in. However, this quote (emphasis added by me) from the DFSMSdfp Utilities manual in the DFSMS bookshelf is relevant (remember that IEHPROGM is a very old utility and hence the continuation requirements are strict):
1.4.2.1 Continuing Utility Control Statements

Utility control statements are contained in columns 1 through 71. A statement that exceeds 71 characters must be continued on one or more additional records. A nonblank character must be placed in column 72 to indicate continuation.
Exception: Some utilities allow exceptions to this rule. In those cases, a utility statement can be interrupted either in column 71 or after any comma.

The continued portion of the utility control statement must begin in column 16 of the following record.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby gowthamgyaa » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:16 pm

@Robert
Thank you very much for your kind reply.
Terribly sorry robert i just mistyped from the first column, actually in my JCL Statement i did it from col 4 but got the same error which i mentiond above.


//JOB STATEMENT
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEHPROGM
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1 DD VOL=SER=ASMS04,UNIT=3390,DISP=SHR
//SYSIN DD *
      RENAME=*****.TECH.EMP,VOL=3390=ASMS04,
      NEWNAME=*****.TECHIN.EMP
/*
//
I request you to debug me in this case. Sorry robert i am unable to provide snap's to you.
gowthamgyaa
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:18 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby Akatsukami » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:18 pm

Unless you have been explicitly tasked to use IEHPROGM as a classroom assignment, I strongly recommend the use of IDCAMS instead (it is much newer and, IMNSHO, better than the cranky old IEH utilitites). The JCL and control cards for this task are:
//STEP10   EXEC PGM=IDCAMS 
//SYSPRINT DD   SYSOUT=*   
//SYSIN    DD   *           
  ALTER hlq.TECH.EMP -     
    NEWNAME(hlq.TECHIN.EMP)
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby NicC » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:23 pm

USE THE CODE TAGS as requested. They give your data a cyan on black look like Akatsukami's post. Do not use the Quick Reply button but the Post Reply button. And you have ignored Robert's advice and posting on the requirements for continuation. If you cannot be bothered to read what is posted and act on it why should we bother assisting?
I have coded your data and as you can see the spaces have magically reappeared in front of your control cards.

I aslo suggest that you debug it yourself otherwise you will never learn. And what do you mean by "snap's"?
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby gowthamgyaa » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:33 pm

@akatsukami
Thank you very much for your kind reply. I'l try it with what you said


Kind regard's
gyaa
gowthamgyaa
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:18 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby gowthamgyaa » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:44 pm

[quote="NicC"] And you have ignored Robert's advice and posting on the requirements for continuation. If you cannot be bothered to read what is posted and act on it why should we bother assisting?
@Nicc,
I am not ignoring anyone's advice here, As am a Beginner am following each & everyone's post here and implementing it, even today I did what you guided me in TSO/ISPF section yesterday. As you told i have to debug myself, I tried to debug it but I need more efforts to do it ,so am Posting here to get knowledge from the experts.

In the guidelines of Roberts , he told two more errors in that statement. So I replied him to debug my error's so that I would get a better knowledge in that.
I do no the reason behind your firing lines on me in the last post. Snap's i mentioned it for the Image which am unable to provide.


kind regard's
gyaa
gowthamgyaa
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:18 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby NicC » Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:48 pm

Show me the non-blank character in column 72 as Robert mentioned.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby gowthamgyaa » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:01 pm

@Nicc,
I dont see my statement's exceeding 70 column's.
I just denoted a comma for continuation in the control card.
If any mistake kindly Pardon me & guide for the same.


Kind regard's
gyaa
gowthamgyaa
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:18 pm
Has thanked: 67 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: IEH progm control card error

Postby NicC » Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:11 pm

You have just stated yourself that you are continuing a statement onto another line. As the manual says - as per Robert's post - you have to put a non-blank character in column 72 to continue a statement. A trailing comma is NOT a sign of continuation.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Next

Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post