Print syslog in dataset using jcl



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby rdhavnur » Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:59 am

Hello all

I am new in this site. this is really a nice and informative site so decided to join this site.

I am writing a jcl through which i can print the syslog in a dataset using jcls.

//LOG EXEC PGM=ISFAFD,DYNAMNBR=150,PARM='++122,1000'
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//ISFOUT DD DSN=OPROPR.SYSLOG.TEMP,DISP=SHR
//ISFIN DD *
LOG S
PT ODSN 'OPROPR.SYSLOG.TEMP' * SHR
PT 00.00.01 mm/dd/yyyy 23.59.59 mm/dd/yyyy
CLOSE
//*

the syslog is getting printed in dataset for 02 hrs. after that i am not able to get syslog for the remaining duration

i tried with lot of options in PARM but didnot help me achieve the target.

Please help or give the link through which i will get the information

Regards,

Ravindra D. Havnur
rdhavnur
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby dick scherrer » Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:51 am

Hello and welcome to the forum,

For us to help, you have to provide something for us to work with. WHY are you not able to get "the remaining duration".

When your process executed, it generated some informational or diagnostic messages. If you post these including any message ids, it may help someone help you.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby rdhavnur » Sun Nov 25, 2012 8:42 pm

We are unable to find why the log is not getting printed for the remaining duration where as the job gets completed with rc=0000

JCL

//LOG EXEC PGM=ISFAFD,DYNAMNBR=150,PARM='++122,1000'
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//ISFOUT DD DSN=OPROPR.SYSLOG.TEMP,DISP=SHR
//ISFIN DD *
LOG S
PT ODSN 'OPROPR.SYSLOG.TEMP' * SHR
PT 00.58.00 11/19/2012 03.28.00 11/19/2012
CLOSE
//*

RC=0000

JESYSMSG

ICH70001I userid LAST ACCESS AT 12:10:02 ON TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 20, 2012
IEF236I ALLOC. FOR LOGBKPDH LOG
IEF237I JES2 ALLOCATED TO SYSPRINT
IEF237I JES2 ALLOCATED TO SYSOUT
IGD103I SMS ALLOCATED TO DDNAME ISFOUT
IEF237I JES2 ALLOCATED TO ISFIN
IEF237I 3017 ALLOCATED TO HASPINDX
IGD104I OPROPR.SYSLOG.TEMP RETAINED, DDNAME=SYS00001
IEF142I LOGBKPDH LOG - STEP WAS EXECUTED - COND CODE 0000
IEF285I SSGSHW.LOGBKPDH.JOB24543.D0000102.? SYSOUT
IEF285I SSGSHW.LOGBKPDH.JOB24543.D0000103.? SYSOUT
IGD104I OPROPR.SYSLOG.TEMP RETAINED, DDNAME=ISFOUT
IEF285I userid.LOGBKPDH.JOB24543.D0000101.? SYSIN
IEF285I SYS1.ISF.HASPINDX KEPT
IEF285I VOL SER NOS= SYSJES.
IEF373I STEP/LOG /START 2012325.1211
IEF374I STEP/LOG /STOP 2012325.1211 CPU 0MIN 00.19SEC SRB 0MIN 00.06SEC VIRT 32K SYS 320K EXT 1924K SYS 12648K
IEF375I JOB/LOGBKPDH/START 2012325.1211
IEF376I JOB/LOGBKPDH/STOP 2012325.1211 CPU 0MIN 00.19SEC SRB 0MIN 00.06SEC

Please help as i want make the job at the earliest
rdhavnur
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:08 pm

Please help as i want make the job at the earliest


if You have time issues , a forum is not the best place to seek help.

as You know we reply on our own time and free of charge.
there is no commitment on our side to provide help
there should be no expectation on your side to receive any.
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby rdhavnur » Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:01 pm

ok no issues. please give me the solution i will be thank full to you all

Regards,
rdhavnur
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Mon Nov 26, 2012 5:11 pm

please give me the solution i will be thank full to you all


this is a help forum ... not a gimme the <code> one

and, before complaining, look at how many times I have provided code ,
but ... to people with a different attitude
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby dick scherrer » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:55 pm

Hello,

How have you confirmed there was more data that was not selected?

From what you have posted, it appears the process did what was asked of it?
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby rdhavnur » Tue Nov 27, 2012 4:26 pm

Dear Dick scherrer

I have confirmed this by checking in the output dataset in which data was there only for 02 hrs. and have checked the system log and there was data for 24 hrs.
yes as the job is compledted with rc = 0000 it seems that the process is completed but when we see the output there is a problem. please help

Regards
rdhavnur
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby rdhavnur » Tue Nov 27, 2012 4:29 pm

Dear Dick scherrer

I want to add a point in the above reply i think there is a problem in parm='++122,1000' when i give some other number the output changes and have tried lot of option and atlast was able to get data only for 02 hrs. instead 0f 24 hrs.

Regards
rdhavnur
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print syslog in dataset using jcl

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:34 pm

parm='++122,1000'


what does the SDSF manual say about the format and content of the parm field ???
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post