Syntax errors



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Syntax errors

Postby nameexists » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:19 pm

Hi I am trying to find the errors in the code, syntax etc. Can anyone help me.? thanks

//LIT1234 JOB 123,5861,'MIKE',NOTIFY=, 00001
// MSGCLASS=X,CLASS=A,MSGLEVEL=(1,1),REGION=2048K, TIME=0,2 00002
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEFBR14 00003
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=* 00004
//DELMK DD DSN=IECI17Z.LYIT.OREPORT 00005
// DISP=(,RENAME,DELETE), 00006
// SPACE=(TRK,0) 00007
//STEP2 EXEC PGM=VSAMPROG,COND=(0,GTE) 00008
//STEPLIB DD DSN=IECI17Z.LYIT.LOADLIB,DISP=SHR 00009
//GO.PRINTOUT DD SYSOUT=* 00010
///GO.SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=* 00011
//GO SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=* 00012
//VMAST DD DSN=IECI17Z.LYIT.VSAM.MASTER,DISP=SHR 00013
//ITRANS DD DSN=IECI170.CI17A.LYIT001234.T1.ITRANS,DISP=OLD 00014
//*REPORT DD SYSOUT=*,DCB=(RECFM=FBA,LRECL=80,BLKSIZE=0) 00015
//OREPORT DD=DSN=IECI17Z.LYIT.OREPORT,DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE), 00016
// SPACE=(TRK,(1,1),RLSE), 00017
// DCB=(RECFM=FBA,LRECL=81,BLKSIZE=0) 00018
// 00019
/* 00020
nameexists
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Syntax errors

Postby Akatsukami » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:30 pm

  1. Enclose your JCL in Code tags when posting.
  2. Run the job with the TYPRUN=SCAN parameter on the job card.
  3. Read the fine manual
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Syntax errors

Postby Robert Sample » Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:12 am

A casual glance indicates you have DISP=(,RENAME,DELETE) specified. You REALLY need to read the JCL Language Reference manual from the IBM Manuals link at the top of this page since you will find that RENAME is not a valid subparameter of DISP.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Syntax errors

Postby c62ap90 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 12:28 am

Can you do JCK or JEM on command line for JCL Syntax?

Just looking at the JCL quickly…
Line 00001
No userid after "NOTIFY="
Line 00002
Comma after ''REGION=2048K," should not be there
Line 00006
RENAME looks incorrect. Should be CATLG, PASS, DELETE, KEEP, or UNCATLG.
Line 00006
COND format does not look correct.
Line 00012
You either need a dot after "GO" or take "GO " out.
LINE 00020
After end of job "//" so the "/*" is not correct.
c62ap90
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:24 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Syntax errors

Postby NicC » Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:02 am

why not read and understand the messages produced? Why should we try and work out what the error messages are? Why did you not post the error messages? Why can you not resolve the errors yourself? You are paid to do so and we are not. We will do your work for you but we would expect you to pay us - probably more than what you are getting.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Syntax errors

Postby nameexists » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:27 pm

NicC wrote:why not read and understand the messages produced? Why should we try and work out what the error messages are? Why did you not post the error messages? Why can you not resolve the errors yourself? You are paid to do so and we are not. We will do your work for you but we would expect you to pay us - probably more than what you are getting.


Thanks for the reply very helpful. You ******* bellend
Expletive Deleted
nameexists
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Syntax errors

Postby dick scherrer » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:23 pm

Hello,

Hi I am trying to find the errors in the code, syntax etc. Can anyone help me.?
Ok as a start.

Then you provide nothing of use and actually expect people here to not only help, but determine what you have done incorrectly (and tell you how to fix it).
Thanks for the reply very helpful. You f*****g b*****d
How pathetic :evil:

why not read and understand the messages produced? Why should we try and work out what the error messages are? Why did you not post the error messages? Why can you not resolve the errors yourself?
If you are unwilling to provide information needed to help you, we cannot help. That some have tried is kind of them, but your post was not worth the technical replies.

If you want help and post the requested info, someone may have suggestions.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Syntax errors

Postby nameexists » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:46 pm

dick scherrer wrote:Hello,

Hi I am trying to find the errors in the code, syntax etc. Can anyone help me.?
Ok as a start.

Then you provide nothing of use and actually expect people here to not only help, but determine what you have done incorrectly (and tell you how to fix it).
Thanks for the reply very helpful. You f*****g b*****d
How pathetic :evil:

why not read and understand the messages produced? Why should we try and work out what the error messages are? Why did you not post the error messages? Why can you not resolve the errors yourself?
If you are unwilling to provide information needed to help you, we cannot help. That some have tried is kind of them, but your post was not worth the technical replies.

If you want help and post the requested info, someone may have suggestions.


I am totally new to this, So I may make mistakes when posting. But it is not the first time I got a rude reply from know it alls on here. So if you speak rude to me you'll get it back.
nameexists
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:41 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Syntax errors

Postby dick scherrer » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:03 pm

Hello,

I am totally new to this, So I may make mistakes when posting. But it is not the first time I got a rude reply from know it alls on here. So if you speak rude to me you'll get it back.
Unfortunately, it is often difficult to tell the difference between a mistake and when someone is being inconsiderate/lazy/whatever.

When a Helper points this out, it is Never proper to reply with the F-word and similar . . .
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Syntax errors

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:40 pm

I am totally new to this,


being new should not prevent You from using some good sense and good manners

whenever an error occurs proper good sense and good manners dictate to post the messages received
in order to help people who spend their time to help You at no charge
to understand what is going on and provide suggestions

refusing to post such info will result in the appropriate nasty comments
and no help for the current and probably also for Your future requests
whether You like it or not

( on this forum a user might tag Your ID as a <foe> , effectively making You and Your messages invisible )
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Next

Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post