Page 1 of 2

Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:10 pm
by samb01
Heelo,

i have sereval tape to rename. So i have to copy it with a new alias.

For example the tape : X.FDST.GF must be rename in TREP.FDST.GF with exactly the same parameters.
I have a very long lit to copy (about 3000 tapes) whiche are in a list dataset :

VIEW YTRD.VCFDTRE.BGTD.GHVFT.TAPE Columns 00001 00072
Command ===> Scroll ===> CSR
****** ***************************** Top of Data ******************************
000001 937284 00001 PRFRT.FABVI1.ARCH.DU270692 2011/3
000002 937400 00001 PRFRT.FABVI2.ARCH.DU270692 2011/3
000003 281656 00001 PRFRT.FABVI3.ARCH.DU270692 2011/3
000004 220492 00001 PRFRT.FABVI4.ARCH.DU270692 2011/3
000005 954154 00001 PRFRT.FABVI5.ARCH.DU270692 2011/3


etc...



could you help me about which method i could use ?

Thank's for your help..

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 8:34 pm
by enrico-sorichetti
given that for tapes You must COPY things
to generate the jcl needed You have two alternatives

donkey work ...
ispf cut/paste/copy/overlay

after having written a small procedure along the lines of

//jobname   JOB ... 
//*
//cpyproc  PROC inpref=X,oupref=TREP
//cpy      EXEC <the utility used to copy>
//*
//inddname   DD DSN=&INpref..&ds,
//              ... all the other appropriate parameters
//*
//outddnam   DD DSN=&OUpref..&ds,
//              ... all the other appropriate parameters
//*
//... all the other ddnames used by Your utility         
//*
//         PEND
//*
//f1       EXEC cpyproc,ds=GHVFT.GF
//...      repeat as many times as needed   
//...      repeat as many times as needed   
//...      repeat as many times as needed   


or generate the above using a REXX script

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:56 am
by Robert Sample
Have you discussed this request with your site support group? They would be the place to start.

As long as you only want to change the high level qualifier, AND the data set names are long enough that the high level qualifier is NOT in the last 17 characters of the data set name, you could uncatalog the tapes and catalog them with the new high level qualifier -- as long as your site will allow this. If your site does not support this, then as Enrico said you will have to copy all 3000 tapes and use the new data set names on each.

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 1:54 pm
by samb01
Hello Robert Sample,

AND the data set names are long enough that the high level qualifier is NOT in the last 17 characters of the data set name, you could uncatalog the tapes and catalog them with the new high level qualifier


It interests me. I'm going to discuss with my site support group, but could you explain which tool allow it (or which programm ?)? CA 1 ? because we have CA1 in our site.

Thank's for your help.

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:24 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

There is not really a "tool" - this is just how the catalog works for tape datasets.

But - the dataset name has to be long enough to use this . . .

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:22 am
by steve-myers
Try -

DEFINE ALIAS(NAME(existing tape data set name) RELATE(name you want to use))

This will work ONLY if both names will be in the same catalog AND you have data set access to both names. The tape data set is actually accessed using the data set name on the tape, not the data set name you specify in JCL.

If you can use this method, it is much simpler than copying many thousands of tape data sets.

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:46 pm
by samb01
Hello steve-myers, your solution interest me.
But could you please explain me more with an example.

Actually tha tape is :

X.TAPE.ONE

If i tape the command :


DEFINE ALIAS(NAME(X.TAPE.ONE) RELATE(Y.TAPE.ONE))




i will have two dataset name ? :

X.TAPE.ONE in the catalog

and

i will have to specify :

Y.TAPE.ONE

in the JCL ?

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:24 pm
by steve-myers
Provided the catalog alias for Y points to the same catalog as the catalog alias for X, you can use either name.

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:51 pm
by samb01
Hello steve-myers. Thanks for your help. Just one more thing.

Tha Alias X. will not exist any more.

We are going to suppress it. So we will have only the alias Y.

It dosen't matter ?

Re: Renaming sereval Tape

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:10 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

I don't know if you can have an alias to something that does not exist . . . :?