Page 1 of 2

Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:38 am
by nikesh_rai
Hi Friends,

We are facing some difficulties while doing newc in different CICS regions. We have almost 8 CICS regions and for every changed program, we need to do newc in all CICS regions. For large projects, it is always a hurdle for us to do newc in all 8 regions for each program. So we though of automating the same. As I don't have much exposure to CICS, I need your suggestions on this, how I can proceed for it with consuming minimum time. Is there any way we can newc all the programs in all regions through Batch (using COBOL or REXX)

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 4:50 pm
by prino
You could probably write a macro for your terminal emulator to do this...

And what does "... almost 8 CICS regions ..." mean? 7.5, or 7.9. or 7.98?

Beetje melig na 28 uur liften tussen Vilnius en Oostende. :mrgreen:

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:03 pm
by Robert Sample
One way would be to add a step to your compile JCL to submit another job; the second job has 8 console commands to do the NEWCOPY in each CICS region (this has to be done in a separate job because batch console commands execute BEFORE the job does).

Another way would be to write a CICS program installed into each region to do the NEWCOPY and write a batch program using the EXCI interface to invoke that program in each CICS region.

I'm sure there are other ways to do this -- some of which may depend upon the third party software installed at your site. Consult your site support group -- they will know your environment best and, presumably, be able to help you achieve your goal.

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:14 pm
by nikesh_rai
Thanks a lot Prino and Robert..

I will do some R&D on the suggestions you gave me and will try to implement it. I will for sure came back to you with results.. :)

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 5:54 pm
by nikesh_rai
Hi Robert,

I tried running below JCL, getting maxcc= 00, but it's not doing newc.

//TIBN2RP JOB 5211,'Newc',                                         
//         CLASS=D,MSGCLASS=U,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER                                           
//SYSIN DD DUMMY                                                     
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                               
//SYSUT2 DD SYSOUT=(*,INTRDR)                                       
//SYSUT1 DD DATA,DLM=$$                                             
/*$VS,'F DAXXXXXX,CEMT SET PROG(TIBDXXX) NEW'                       
$$                                                     

I have gone through some EXCI, but still unable to understand, how I can use it.

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:27 pm
by Robert Sample
I don't think you can submit a command into the internal reader and get it to execute. Try this instead:
//TIBN2RP JOB 5211,'Newc',                                         
//         CLASS=D,MSGCLASS=U,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEFBR14                                           
// COMMAND '$VS,F DAXXXXXX,CEMT SET PROG(TIBDXXX) NEW'                       

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:30 pm
by nikesh_rai
I also checked for some other options like RXDPL, but it needs lots of information to implement it. But I couldn't find any proper documentation, a sample example can help me a lot.

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 1:15 pm
by nikesh_rai
We tried this jcl

//TIBN2RP JOB 5211,'Newc',                                         
//         CLASS=D,MSGCLASS=U,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEFBR14                                           
// COMMAND '$VS,F DAXXXXXX,CEMT SET PROG(TIBDXXX) NEW'


But no impact, JCL executed with maxcc=00, but newc wasn't successful. I checked my CICS region as well, but no message is there

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 2:40 pm
by NicC
Of course it ended with a zero return code - it is executing IEFBR14 which does nothing except set a return code of 0. The caommand you are trying to execute is the line starting // COMMAND. This is not a part of IEFBR14 - it is stripped from the job when it is submitted and executed then - not when the job executes - in fact the job might never execute but the command will.

Have you checked with your CICS admin as to whether the command parameters are correct for your installation?

Re: Automating Newc for CICS regions

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 6:13 pm
by Robert Sample
You CANNOT look at the job to determine the status of the NEWCOPY! The job executes IEFBR14 because a submitted job must have at least one EXEC statement in it, but the COMMAND is where the NEWCOPY is being done. And if it is not working, you may have one (or more) of the parameters wrong, or you may have the APPLID for the CICS region wrong, or you may have compiled the program into a library concatenated in the DFHRPL after another library with a copy of the same program, or you may not have security authorization to issue console commands, or ... did you look at the console log to verify the CICS region executed the command? You need to work with your site support group at this point since the issue now relates to something at your site.