Page 1 of 1

Cobol copybook renew in CICS

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 4:24 pm
by latimeria
Hi and sorry for the stupid question, I'm really new to mainframes :)

I'm supposed to apply a patch sent by vendors to my mainframe program. Patch consists of three Cobol modules and a copybook. In case of Cobol modules I compile them and do NEWCOPY in CICS then. In case of copybook, I compile it also and... what's next? Should I somehow renew it in CICS? How? I did google before asking but got nothing, so would appreciate any hint, link or keyword.

Thank you in advance.

Re: Cobol copybook renew in CICS

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 4:54 pm
by NicC
You do not compile the copybook unless it is a complete program. Copy books are, usually, simply snippets of source code that are copied into programs and the programs compiled. The copybook member simply stays in the copybook library for the application.

Re: Cobol copybook renew in CICS

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:18 pm
by Robert Sample
The compiles should refer to the new copybook so it will be incorporated into the load module.

Re: Cobol copybook renew in CICS

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:49 pm
by latimeria
NicC wrote:You do not compile the copybook unless it is a complete program. Copy books are, usually, simply snippets of source code that are copied into programs and the programs compiled. The copybook member simply stays in the copybook library for the application.

Robert Sample wrote:The compiles should refer to the new copybook so it will be incorporated into the load module.

Oh well, I'll try to describe it better maybe :)
I have, lets say, a file.
I have a line in vendor instruction: "Copy %file% to enviroment to PRECOPY and compile".
I have some homemade naming convention which made me believe it's a copybook, but maybe it's my mistake.
I compile it, then I go to CICS and try to do NEWCOPY, and says "%Program name% not found". Unlike the Cobol folder stuff, which is normally found there.
Is there something I should do to make this new thing work then? Whatever it is?

Re: Cobol copybook renew in CICS

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:13 pm
by Robert Sample
You are interpreting vendor instructions, posting your interpretation here, and expecting us to diagnose whatever the issue is from that? This is not likely to ever work since the error could be in the vendor instructions, or your interpretation of the vendor instructions, or in how you posted here. For example, what on earth is "PRECOPY" -- you have not explained this at all!

I recommend you go to the vendor, explain precisely what you've done and the results you got, and follow what the vendor tells you to do. Vendors deal with all sorts of issues and hence are much more likely to be able to resolve your issue than a forum.

Re: Cobol copybook renew in CICS

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:23 pm
by latimeria
Robert Sample wrote:I recommend you go to the vendor, explain precisely what you've done and the results you got, and follow what the vendor tells you to do. Vendors deal with all sorts of issues and hence are much more likely to be able to resolve your issue than a forum.

Ok, thank you.