Page 2 of 2

Re: Start up CICS

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:05 am
by Robert Sample
You need to look at the MYID job and find out what is wrong with it, assuming of course that you truly did use the correct command as your post indicates.

The rest of your "explanation" sounds like some teacher's hints on how to implement a class exercise. "Copy 10 members" -- from where? to where? why copy them at all? "Once copied I had to run each one" means what -- were there jobs you had to execute? Did you make the members do laps on a track? Assuming you had jobs to execute, what did each job do? Where did you "insert your id" into the jobs? In the job card? In a data set name? In a member name of a PDS? Somewhere else entirely? If you cannot answer every one of these questions, you need to go back and do research until you can answer each of them.

The fact that your output includes
1 //ZCON625W JOB UNIVER,
// ZCON625, **JOB STATEMENT GENERATED BY SUBMIT**
// NOTIFY=ZCON625,
// MSGLEVEL=(1,1)
implies your START command in SDSF did not work but was taken as a SUBMIT command -- totally different.

Based upon what you've shown so far, your best bet is to go to someone at your site and get help from them since this forum is not likely to be of much use unless you explain a whole lot more than you have so far.

Re: Start up CICS

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:09 am
by clapclash
I copied 10 members from ZOS.CONTEST2.CICS.JCL to MYID.CONTEST2.CICS.JCL, these are data sets that have to be created in order to run the CICS region, some of them are sequential data sets and the other are VSAM data sets. Some of the CICS data sets are created using JCL DD statements and some are created using IDCAMS. After I copied the the members I just add my ID number deleting the Xs.
This is an example of the 10 jobs:

//DFHCSD JOB MSGCLASS=H,NOTIFY=&SYSUID,REGION=0M
000014 //* Define DFHCSD
000015 //*------------------------------------------------------------------
000016//DFHCSD EXEC PGM=IDCAMS
000017 //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
000018 //SYSIN DD *
000019 DEFINE CLUSTER (NAME(ZCON625.CICS660.DFHCSD) -
000020 INDEXED -
000021 CYL(2,1) -
000022 KEYS(22 0) -
000023 RECORDSIZE(200 2000) -
000024 FREESPACE(5 5) -
000025 SHAREOPTIONS(2) -
000026 ) -
000027 INDEX (NAME(ZCON625.CICS660.DFHCSD.INDEX) -
000028 ) -
000029 DATA (NAME(ZCON625.CICS660.DFHCSD.DATA) -
000030 )
000031 //*------------------------------------------------------------------
000032 //* Initialise DFHCSD
000033 //*------------------------------------------------------------------
000034 //INITCSD EXEC PGM=DFHCSDUP,COND=(0,GT)
000035 //STEPLIB DD DSN=CICSTS.CICS660.SDFHLOAD,DISP=SHR
000036 // DD DSN=CICSTS.CICS660.SDFHWSLD,DISP=SHR
000037 //DFHCSD DD DSN=ZCON625.CICS660.DFHCSD,DISP=SHR,
000038 // AMP='BUFNI=10,BUFND=10'
000039 //SYSUT1 DD UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(1024,(100,10))
000040 //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
000041 //SYSIN DD *
000042 INITIALIZE
000043 // DD DSN=CEE.SCEESAMP(CEECCSD),DISP=SHR
****** **************************** Bottom of Data ****************************

The task is really easy, but I can't figure out what's going wrong, as you Robert can see I had just to replace the Xs with my ID and then execute the start up for CICS but instead having message IEF2121 I have as result IEE1321. I know I should have message DFHSI1517 as result, but it's a part of the task and I still have to create the dataset that will be indicated by error IEF2121. I hope this clarify my situation, tell me if you need more info.

Re: Start up CICS

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 5:29 pm
by Robert Sample
This particular job defines and initializes a CSD file. If this is the job whose output you posted earlier, then you have not cut and pasted the job correctly, as this job will not generate the output shown by JES2.

Since you will not provide what you are asked, and you seem to have a large disconnect between what you are being told and what you perceive, I STRONGLY recommend you stop attempting to get assistance on this forum and get help from someone -- anyone -- working at your site; your teacher, a fellow student, or even a staff member could provide better assistance since they would be able to look at your work and job output which we cannot do.

If you must post again, please post (using the Code button) the exact job that you ran which generated the JES2 output you posted earlier. Until and unless you can do this, I see no reason to respond any further. You have been told to get help from someone local -- go do so.

Re: Start up CICS

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 1:07 pm
by mongan
As already stated, you need to post what is really happening, either the jcl or the proclib member that you are using for your cics start. It looks like you are confused and you do not really know what you are doing.