Page 1 of 1

refresh program

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 3:13 am
by Bjoern
Hi,
I have a question. How can I refresh a program in CICS. With
CEMT INQUIRE PROGRAM(URSSTORE)

get
Prog(URSSTORE) Leng(0000007552) Cob Pro Ena Pri     Ced   
   Res(000) Use(0000000009) Bel Uex Ful Qua Cic           Len

This program is called from a webservice. I can see the numbers on access by the 'use' variable (9).

I changed the code and compiled again (return code 0 - no errors). After that the value of Leng=7552 didn't change. What can I do?

Cheers
Björn

Re: refresh program

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 3:16 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

You would do a "newcopy". You may or may not have permission to do this. If the module is in use, you may have to get the use count down to zero also (been a while and i'm not sure this is still done).

I'd suggest you ask your CICS system programmer for guidance.

Re: refresh program

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:45 pm
by Bjoern
Hi Dick,
thanks for your fast reply. How make it a 'newcopy'? With cemt, ceda, or another one?

Cheers
Björn

Re: refresh program

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:06 pm
by jayind
Hi Bjoern,

try this..

CEMT NEWCOPY PROGRAM(URSSTORE) REPLACE

regards,
Jayind

Re: refresh program

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:26 pm
by Bjoern
Hi,
I have no permission for that. :-(
Is there another way to do that? I can't ask the admin at any compile step.

Output from CEMT INQUIRE PROGRAM(MYPROG):

Program(MYPROG)
Length(0000007552)
Language(Cobol)
Progtype(Program)
Status( Enabled )
Sharestatus( Private )
Copystatus( Notrequired )
Cedfstatus( Cedf )
Dynamstatus(Notdynamic)
Rescount(000)
Usecount(0000000009)
Dataloc(Below)
Execkey(Uexeckey)
Executionset( Fullapi )
Concurrency(Quasirent)
Apist(Cicsapi)
Remotesystem()
Runtime( Lenv )

I can change the green values.

Does the 'Length' item mean the size of the program, really? Maybe it means the number of lines.

Cheers
Björn

Re: refresh program

PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:06 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Length is size not number of lines - it is a hex value (IIRC).

You either need to be given permission to bring in a new copy, given permission to request this from the admins/system support people, or you need to tell your management that you are unable to do your work with the current restrictions. Hopefully, your manager will prefer that you be productive.

Just a thought - how do the other developers get around this problem? Talking with your peers may help.

Re: refresh program

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 12:15 am
by gargh
hi,
Try this.it should work... CEMT S PROG(URSTORE) PH