Page 1 of 1

Entering transaction and associated data by JCL

PostPosted: Sat Apr 20, 2013 6:33 pm
by Mehdi shri
In our site we use an application (a teller program writen by JAVA) to send data (transaction and associated data) to CICS.
Then CICS receive data and process it whit online program which assigned to that tranaction.
For example when we click on a button in teller program a transaction named ACCT which is assigned to program ACCTOPEN called and then an account will be opened for a customer.(customer information was associated data stream followed after transaction code). therefore CICS receive an string same this :
ACCT02010009130420094500

That:
ACCT is transaction name
020 specifies account type.
10009 specifies customer number.
130420094500 specifies timestamp.

If I only paste string "ACCT02010009130420094500" on my CICS related terminal the trancation done and an account will be opened for customer number =10009.
My CICS runing on a z/OS. Now I want to doeing this actions by submitting a job so this job reads data string(contained transaction and associated data) as a SYSIN data and sending it to CICS.
Which utility I must use to doeing this. I know that utility=DFHCSDUP is used for defining transactions and other resources. But how I can send an applicational transaction to a CICS terminal by a job?

Re: Entering transaction and associated data by JCL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:49 am
by Robert Sample
What you want to do may -- or may not -- be possible; it depends upon how the application is written. Research CICS batch terminal (using Google or whatever you choose). You will want to consult with your site support group to get the CICS system programmer ideas since there may be site restrictions / limitations that impact what you can do.

Re: Entering transaction and associated data by JCL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:38 am
by Mehdi shri
Dear Robert Sample
I must provide bulky data from our teller system so it send this data to host (MainFrame and CICS) and insert this data to associated DB's. This very time consuming task (and not a profesional job for testing also). In our teller(application) envirounment we can't automate doeing any action and must insert data to forms and send it to host only manually. But in host side we have sufficient authority to doeing any action. Therefor I am sure that we can produce data stream(just like thing that teller produced) and give it to the CICS. for example the thing that teller sent to host (or CICS) is the "ACCT02010009130420094500".
Is it obvious for you. PLZ help me.

Re: Entering transaction and associated data by JCL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:51 am
by Stefan
I see two easy options for you.
- Use a scripting tool to automate data entry to your teller program. This is the easiest solution I can think of. Try for example AUTOIT, an easy-to-learn scripting solution (free of any charge) to control any Windows-based GUI application.
- Or use the EXCI interface, an IBM-provided solution for access to a CICS transaction by a batch job. You will find the concepts described here. In addition you might look at this small rudimental example and read this succinct blog post.
Hope this helps

Re: Entering transaction and associated data by JCL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:49 pm
by Mehdi shri
Dear Stefan
Our teller application runs on linux OS and I can't use AUTOIT. I want only doeing anything on Mainframe or CICS.
Is there any way or tools more than you saeid?
Thanks a lot

Re: Entering transaction and associated data by JCL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:43 pm
by enrico-sorichetti
see here for suggested basic readings for CICS
cics/topic9037.html

You should really talk to You CICS support anyway

Re: Entering transaction and associated data by JCL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:44 pm
by Robert Sample
Mehdi shri: you keep coming up with reasons why the posted suggestions won't work for you. Contact your site support group and talk to the CICS system programmer(s). Your site support group is (or should be) more familiar with your environment than anyone on this forum, and may already have similar functionality implemented for another group within your organization. There are products that can assist in automation of testing efforts (such as Compuware's QA-Hiperstation), but only someone working AT YOUR SITE could possibly tell you whether or not such a tool is installed AT YOUR SITE. Since you want a solution for a problem specific to your site and your application, you really should NOT be asking on a forum but rather working with your site support group.