Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE



TSO Programming, ISPF, SDF, SDSF and PDF, FTP, TCP/IP Concepts, SNA & SNA/IP etc...

Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby chidams78 » Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:19 pm

Hi,

My reqt is to open a dataset in browse mode when I put the cursor on the dataset name and type the macro name on command line. This is working fine but when I put JEM in JCL, the symbolic parameters will be expanded and the full job name comes in NOTELINE. I am not able to extract the job name even if I put cursor on the dataset which is in NOTELINE

Job
000442 //STEP1 EXEC PGM=TESTPGM
000443 //INPUT1 DD DSN=*.STEP12.SORTOUT,DISP=SHR
000444 //OUTPUT DD DSN=&HLQAO..&DMC..&SNODE..STEP17.GDGJCL,
=NOTE= --OUTPUT DD DSN=ASB#UP.TST.STEP1.GDG,
000445 // UNIT=DISK,DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE),
000446 // DCB=(RECFM=FB,LRECL=80,BLKSIZE=8000),
000447 // SPACE=(CYL,(10,50),RLSE)

Code
"ISREDIT (LINE) = LINENUM .ZCSR"
"ISREDIT (LINE) = CURSOR"
"ISREDIT (BRLINE) = LINE .ZCSR"
PARSE VAR BRLINE 'DSN=' BRDSET ','
"ISPEXEC BROWSE DATASET('"BRDSET"')"
EXIT

Please help me how to extract the data from NOTELINE.

Thanks
Chidam
chidams78
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby Bill Dennis » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:02 pm

Use the MD (make data) line command on the note line to make it a data line. Now you can reference it.

Be sure to delete it or it will be part of the file.
Regards,

Bill Dennis

Disclaimer: My comments on this forum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity.
Bill Dennis
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby chidams78 » Sat Dec 06, 2008 1:05 am

Hi Bill,

Thanks for the info. Could you please let me know whether the line command MD can be executed through macro.
I mean through ISPF edit macro, can we change the NOTELINE and MSGLINE to datalines, retrieve the DSN and convert back to Notelines.

Appreciate your help in this.

Thanks
Chidam
chidams78
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby chidams78 » Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:59 am

Hi all,

Could any of you please help me in this requirement.

Thanks
Chidam
chidams78
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby dick scherrer » Thu Jan 22, 2009 6:45 am

Hello,

Unfortunately, i don't speak "edit macro". . .

Possibly this will provide some clarification:
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocente ... linebe.htm
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby chidams78 » Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:32 pm

Thanks Dick for the link to ISPF edit macros.

As per my understanding and as told in the link, we can insert any data as MSGLINE or NOTELINE or DATALINE.
But my requirement is to query/get the data which is already stored as NOTELINE. Also it is mentioned that once the data is stored as NOTELINE, we won't be able to reference it. So how we can reference those data.

Eg: When we put JEM in JCL, the symbolic parameters of the datasets in JCL will get expanded and is displayed in NOTELINE (=NOTE=) instead of in DATALINE. We are not able to reference them through macros.

Please help me in this regard.

Thanks
Chidam
chidams78
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby dick scherrer » Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:14 am

Hello,

So how we can reference those data.
If i understood the documentation, the data cannot be referenced from NOTELINE . . .

To get the data, you might talk with JEM support and ask if they could provide guidance on how JEM gets the info (surely, some kind of assembler code).

You might also submit the jcl with
//         TYPRUN=SCAN,
which will expand the symbolic parameters and then process the JESJCL spooled output.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby chidams78 » Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:28 am

Thanks Dick for your reply.
Normally in manual process, if we are issuing the line command 'MD' on this NOTELINE, this line will be converted to DATALINE and then we can reference it. But unfortuantely, 'MD" command is not working in ISPF edit macro.

Basically my reqt is that - "Place the cursor over the dataset and on typing the macro on command line, the dataset should get opened in Browse mode". I am able to extract and browse the dataset name if it is in DATALINE (if JEM /JSCAN is not put).

If we are puting TYPRUN=SCAN, then also the suymbolic parameters will get expanded and will be in NOTELINE only.

Appreciate your help.

Thanks
Chidam
chidams78
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Extracting data from MSGLINE or NOTELINE

Postby dick scherrer » Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:26 am

Hello,

If we are puting TYPRUN=SCAN, then also the suymbolic parameters will get expanded and will be in NOTELINE only.
If you actually submit the scan, the sysout may be used as data - it is not "blocked", but would take extra work to access.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times


Return to TSO & ISPF

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post