Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset



TSO Programming, ISPF, SDF, SDSF and PDF, FTP, TCP/IP Concepts, SNA & SNA/IP etc...

Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby arshadhrashid » Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:34 am

Hello All,
I checked the utility IKJEFT01 in this forum but could not find the answer so I am submitting my question.

Is there a way I can send the sysout of IKJEFT01 utility to a dataset?
I have the following JCL but it doesnot send the output to my named dataset

Any help would be appreciated.

//STEP01  EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01
//STEPLIB DD DSN=DB2.KDB.V9R1M0.SDSNLOAD,DISP=SHR
//        DD DSN=DB2.KDB.V9R1M0.RUNLIB.LOAD,DISP=SHR
//SYSTSPRT   DD DSN=MYNAME.NEW,DISP=MOD  <<------- This dataset alreday exists.
//SYSTSIN    DD *
DSN SYSTEM(MYS)
RUN PROGRAM(DSNTEP2) PLAN(DSNTEP91)
//*
//SYSOUT DD DSN=MYNAME.NEW,DISP=MOD
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSDUMP  DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN  DD *
SELECT SUBSTR(NAME,1,9) DATABASE,SUBSTR(GRANTOR,1,8) GRANTOR, .........
arshadhrashid
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:03 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby dick scherrer » Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:50 am

Hello,

Where does the output go?

In SDSF Place a ? to the left of the job name and determine which sysout has the info you are looking for.

I'm unable to connect to a mainframe just now so i can't run a test here.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby steve-myers » Wed Jul 07, 2010 6:28 am

TSO is kind of picky about the DCB parameters of the SYSTSPRT data set; it won't play if they conflict with what it wants. Perhaps this is the problem.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby arshadhrashid » Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:17 pm

Thanks for trying to help me.
Here is the info you requested. Following is JES2 info.
NP  ,DDNAME  ,StepName,ProcStep,DSID,Owner   ,C,Dest              ,Rec-Cnt,Page
     JESMSGLG JES2                2 AR62199 ,X,LOCAL                 16
     JESJCL       JES2                3 AR62199 ,X,LOCAL                 13
     JESYSMSG  JES2                4 AR62199 ,X,LOCAL                 29
     SYSTSPRT   STEP01           103 AR62199 ,X,LOCAL                 6
 ?   SYSPRINT   STEP01           104 AR62199 ,X,LOCAL                37


The last one SYSPRINT contains the result of my query.

The dataset MYNAME.NEW remains blank and here are its attributes.

Organization . . . :,PS
Record format . . . :,FB
Record length . . . :,133
Block size . . . . :,133
1st extent cylinders:,2
Secondary cylinders :,10
arshadhrashid
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:03 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby dick scherrer » Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:21 pm

Hello,

The last one SYSPRINT contains the result of my query.

The dataset MYNAME.NEW remains blank and here are its attributes.
Which output do you want in the dataset - SYSTSPRT or SYSPRINT?

These 2 statements allow me to place either output in a dataset.
//SYSTSPRT DD DSN=MYQUAL.WHATEVE2,DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE),
//            DATACLAS=DEFAULT,SPACE=(CYL,(1,50),RLSE)     

//SYSPRINT DD DSN=MQUAL.WHATEVE2,DISP=(,CATLG,DELETE),
//            DATACLAS=DEFAULT,SPACE=(CYL,(1,50),RLSE)   


The jcl you posted does not appear to be from the same job as you displayed in the spool. . .
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby arshadhrashid » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:39 am

I used DD with both SYSTSPRINT and SYSPRINT as I was not sure which one will have the output.
I tried with assigning DD to one of them and with both of them , nothing worked.

The JCL I posted is for the same job whose output I displayed.

Thanks.
arshadhrashid
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:03 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby dick scherrer » Thu Jul 08, 2010 6:39 am

Hello,

The JCL I posted is for the same job whose output I displayed.
If this is so, i'm not sure how/why there is an SYSTSPRT sysout. . . :?

Nothing is in the dataset because nothing was written to SYSOUT?

Change the dsn for each dd and use dd statements like i used and run an experiment.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby NicC » Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:39 am

Dick wrote...
'm not sure how/why there is an SYSTSPRT sysout


Arshadhrashid wrote previously...
The dataset MYNAME.NEW remains blank


My observation...

SYSPRINT STEP01 104 AR62199 ,X,LOCAL 37

The dataset MYNAME.NEW remains blank and here are its attributes.

Organization . . . :,PS
Record format . . . :,FB
Record length . . . :,133
Block size . . . . :,133
1st extent cylinders:,2
Secondary cylinders :,10


1) RECFM should be FBA
2) BLKSIZE should be a multiple of 133, or 0. (Actually, I believe SYSPRINT LRECL is 121 - it is for PL/1)
3) you only generate 37 lines of output so you only need 1 track of dasd so why sepcify 30 + 150?
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Sening output of IKJEFT01 to a dataset

Postby dick scherrer » Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:28 pm

Hello,

The recfm is probably not needed - note the tests i ran that do not specify any dcb info.

The problem is with the jcl - it needs to be changed.

Hopefully, arshadhrashid will run the suggested experiment and post back here what happens.

This run used 37 lines - others may not. Specifying a moderate primary extent and a larger secondary extent with rlse is used many places. . . It prevents many space abends while giving back to the system unused space.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times


Return to TSO & ISPF

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post