Updating ISPF tables.



TSO Programming, ISPF, SDF, SDSF and PDF, FTP, TCP/IP Concepts, SNA & SNA/IP etc...

Updating ISPF tables.

Postby Richard Eden » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:24 pm

I need to update ISPF tables. I have a REXX procedure to do this which works OK if I run it from a TSO session. But when I try to run it from a batch job using IKJEFT01 to ISPSTART the REXX program it fails.

So, does anyone have any idea how to update ISPF tables using IKJEFT01 to ISPSTART a REXX program?

Thanks for any advice.
Richard Eden
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Updating ISPF tables.

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:25 pm

But when I try to run it from a batch job using IKJEFT01 to ISPSTART the REXX program it fails.


wouldn' t it be nice if You told us how it failed ?
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Updating ISPF tables.

Postby Richard Eden » Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:00 pm

The failure I get depends on how I allocate the table lirary.

If I allocate the table library like this:

//SH4TLIB DD DSN=hiqual.ISPTLIB,DISP=SHR

the tbopen command fails and returns this:
ISPT036 Table in use -/-TBOPEN issued for table SH4AUD00 that is in use, ENQUEUE failed.

But if I allocate the table library like this:

//SH4TLIB DD RECFM=FB,LRECL=80,SPACE=(TRK,(1,0,1))
// DD DSN=hiqual.ISPTLIB,DISP=SHR

the tbopen, tbscan, and tbput all return RC 0, but the tbclose fails. I get System abend code C1300 and this message is written to my job log:

IEC153I C13-10,IFG0194A,JBPS11A,THEBIZ,SH4TLIB-0002,2B8C,TMP114,hiqual.ISPTLIB

Thanks for any help and advice.
Richard Eden
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Updating ISPF tables.

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:19 pm

Updating common tables under ISPF has always been a murky issue
ISPF is somehow overprotective of its tables

I usually solve the problem by
creating the table using a different name
and when nobody is using the common table
just copy and rename the <dummy> one to the <active> one

for the second problem ...

//SH4TLIB DD RECFM=FB,LRECL=80,SPACE=(TRK,(1,0,1))
// DD DSN=hiqual.ISPTLIB,DISP=SHR


did You read the manuals for the description of the
SC13 abend
and the related
IEC153i-10 message
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times


Return to TSO & ISPF

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post