Set Trace ON/OFF



TSO Programming, ISPF, SDF, SDSF and PDF, FTP, TCP/IP Concepts, SNA & SNA/IP etc...

Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby LaBeets » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:17 pm

Would anyone know how to set trace on/off for a cobol program using TSO ?

On the Command Line you enter:
Set Trace On and hit enter

But the question is really how do get this to display the paragraphs names when executing the JCL.
I executed the JCL and nothing was traced.
Am I missing something ?

Thanks
La Beets
LaBeets
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby Pedro » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:26 pm

JCL is asynchronous to the TSO. The only settings the JCL knows are the settings provided within the JCL when the job was submitted. Check your JCL for PARM=(...) and update is necessary for the program being executed.
Pedro Vera
User avatar
Pedro
 
Posts: 684
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: Silicon Valley
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby LaBeets » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:30 pm

Wrong answer, the correct program was executed, nothing was traced.
LaBeets
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby Akatsukami » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:48 pm

Read this thread from our sister board about COBOL tracing.
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby Robert Sample » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:03 am

La Beets, what kind of trace are you expecting? Have you seen this trace output before? COBOL used to have a READY TRACE facility that would display paragraph names when the first statement in the paragraph was executed, but that facility has not existed in COBOL for well over 20 years. Certain third-party software products, such as Xpediter, allow for tracing of code but the set up for such products would be specific to your site and only someone working at your site would be able to help you set up such a trace. IBM's Debug Tool package probably can do tracing, but again it is an extra-cost item NOT part of the base product and hence only someone working at your site could tell you how to invoke it. I am not aware of any TSO command as you described, so your problem description is by no means accurate nor complete.

So why don't you start at the beginning and tell us:
- what COBOL you are using
- what platform you are using that COBOL on
- what extra products (if any) your site uses such as Xpediter or Debug Tool
- which page of which COBOL manual you are reading that indicates the SET TRACE ON syntax (or, if not a COBOL manual then give us the IBM reference number for the manual and the page you are reading)
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby LaBeets » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:11 am

So why don't you start at the beginning and tell us:
- what COBOL you are using
COBOL for z/OS

- what platform you are using that COBOL on
Being run on the Mainframe

- what extra products (if any) your site uses such as Xpediter or Debug Tool
Doesn't matter, we have Smarttest I can use but 'Set trace On' should work, I've used it before on
the same platform and it worked, just don't remember waht piece is missing.

- which page of which COBOL manual you are reading that indicates the SET TRACE ON syntax (or, if not a COBOL manual then give us the IBM reference number for the manual and the page you are reading)
Set Trace On is a ISPF/TSO Option
If I had the manula I would find the answer.

COBOL for z/OS
LaBeets
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby Pedro » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:24 am

Set Trace On is a ISPF/TSO Option

ISPF is a platform. Numerous vendors provide ISPF panels as part of their products. Telling us that you issued 'SET TRACE ON' in some panel is not useful. What product's panel were you displaying when you issued the command? Provide us with the panel ID and panel title.
Pedro Vera
User avatar
Pedro
 
Posts: 684
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: Silicon Valley
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby LaBeets » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:36 am

Go to ISPF on the IBM MAinframe.
Go to the EDIT screen and bring up some source code.
Once there, on the COMMAND Line type in 'SET TRACE ON'
LaBeets
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby Akatsukami » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:47 am

LaBeets wrote:So why don't you start at the beginning and tell us:
- what COBOL you are using
COBOL for z/OS

Well, "COBOL for z/OS" means, in IBM's parlance, Enterprise COBOL...which, as Mr. Sample says, has never had an intrinsic trace feature. It may well be that, in the past, you used a seriously obsolete compiler (IIRC, READY TRACE was made inefficacious in VS COBOL II). Use the "USE FOR DEBUGGING ON ALL PROCEDURES" directive instead.
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Set Trace ON/OFF

Postby LaBeets » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:58 am

I disagree SET TRACE ON does work for Cobol on the Mainframe.

I'm not looking for an alternative, I'm trying to get this to work, and it does work but a piece is missing for Cobol II.

I know all about IBM-Z10 WITH DEBUGGING MODE.

And no, this wasn't used with a 'seriously obsolete compiler', it was used with the 'seriously modern compiler'.

If can't answer the question, why answer ?
LaBeets
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to TSO & ISPF