How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL



TSO Programming, ISPF, SDF, SDSF and PDF, FTP, TCP/IP Concepts, SNA & SNA/IP etc...

How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby ankushgattani » Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:15 pm

I want to print the spool (SDSF) data to a dataset using JCL.
I know it can be done using XDC, wanted to know if there is any UTILITY for this, which can be used in a JCL.
ankushgattani
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:19 pm

when You run <the> program which creates the <report> instead of using
//<ddname>  DD SYSOUT=<sysoutclass>

use
//<ddname>  DD DSN=<datasetname>,
//             DISP=(<disposition>),
//             all the other appropriate dataset parameters   
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby steve-myers » Mon Sep 24, 2012 8:51 pm

ankushgattani wrote:I want to print the spool (SDSF) data to a dataset using JCL.
I know it can be done using XDC, wanted to know if there is any UTILITY for this, which can be used in a JCL.
The problem here is it is not clear whether the intent is to reprint data already in the JESx SPOOL, or to route data to both a dataset and the JESx SPOOL.
  • It is possible to run SDSF in batch and execute SDSF commands to "print" SPOOL data to a dataset. I've never done this, but others have.
  • There is no simple JCL to send a dataset to both a dataset and to the JESx SPOOL. When this is a requirement, you can use JCL like this
    //        EXEC PGM=yourprogram,...
    //ddname   DD  DISP=(,CATLG),...,DSN=yourdataset
               ....
    //        EXEC PGM=IEBGENER or your favorite copy program
    //SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*
    //SYSUT1   DD  DISP=OLD,DSN=yourdataset
    //SYSUT2   DD  SYSOUT=*
    //SYSIN    DD  DUMMY 
If neither of these solutions appeal to you you can fall back to your XDC solution.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby ankushgattani » Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:20 pm

Sorry, I was not clear in my first post.
I want to Re-print data already in JESx SPOOL for any job, which has already executed and present in SPOOL in PRINT QUEUE.
Input of this will be JOBID/JOBNAME.
Output will be a dataset containing all the SPOOL data for the given JOBID/JOBNAME ( my actual requirement is to print the SPOOL data only for some specific step of the job, but even the complete SPOOL data will do).
Thanks
ankushgattani
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby NicC » Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:43 pm

You can run SDSF in batch via a Rexx interface. Don't ask me how - search. Many people have posted with problems they have had so you should get an idea of how to go about it just from the forums. And that is before starting in on the manuals.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby ankushgattani » Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:10 pm

Thanks. Got it :)
ankushgattani
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:20 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:48 pm

for working snippets of the REXX/SDSF interface see here
http://ibmmainframes.com/about54926.html
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby ramu65 » Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:31 pm

deleted - attempt to hijack the thread as per Blackthorn's post immediately below
ramu65
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby Blackthorn » Mon Mar 10, 2014 8:50 pm

Isn't this the same question that you have posted in the "Other IBM Tools" forum ?
Blackthorn
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: How to print spool data to a dataset using a JCL

Postby NicC » Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:35 pm

ramu65 - DO NOT hijack other people's topics. It does not matter if it is identical to yours - either follow the topic or start your own. I am deleting your post in this topic.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Next

Return to TSO & ISPF

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post