Page 1 of 2

Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:35 pm
by Gallium
I have used ICETOOL to make a simple report. When I press "S" on ISPF then ST and press S next to the job I cannot see the report that it was supposed to generate anywhere? Am I doing something wrong in terms of actually being able to see the output report?

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:24 am
by Gallium
This is my code

//FIRSTJOB JOB
//ICE EXEC PGM=ICETOOL
//RPT DD SYSOUT=A
//IN DD DSN=DATASET.GIVEN.BY.LECTURER,DISP=SHR
  DISPLAY FROM(IN)LIST(RPT)-
  HEADER('HEADER1')HEADER('HEADER2')HEADER('HEADER3')-
  ON(1,4,ZD,LZ)ON(5,1,CH)ON(6,35,CH)BLANK BETWEEN(5)
/*
//


In the given dataset each record consists of a 6 digit decimal given by a 4 byte unsigned binary; a 1 byte CH; and a 35 byte CH.

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:59 am
by BillyBoyo
I'd take a guess that you're not seeing your output because of SYSOUT=A. Although it is entirely site-dependent, classes like A are usually routed straight to a print queue. As soon as printed, you won't be able to see it from your terminal.

You should find out what class to use for output which is not to be routed to a printer. Probably.

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:11 am
by BillyBoyo
Then you got some missing DD statements. TOOLIN is require for the control cards, and you need something for messages. That and the spacing of the control cards, some dummy data supplied on DD * for IN and I think you'll have a good start.

So it was JES3 class , some missing DD statements and spacing of the control cards. All one-time problems (always copy something which already works, then you have the basics to hand immediately).

//ICEDISPL EXEC PGM=ICETOOL
//TOOLMSG DD SYSOUT=*
//DFSMSG DD SYSOUT=*
//RPT DD SYSOUT=*
//TOOLIN DD *
DISPLAY FROM(IN) LIST(RPT) -
HEADER('HEADER1') HEADER('HEADER2') HEADER('HEADER3') -
ON(1,4,ZD,LZ) ON(5,1,CH) ON(6,35,CH) BLANK BETWEEN(5)
//IN     DD *
1234AABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ123456789


Well done with using the Code tags. You are in the correct part of the forum if you have DFSORT (messages start with ICE) else you should be in SyncSORT if messages start with WER (SORT) or SYT (SyncTOOL).

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 4:19 am
by Gallium
Where do I put ln4 of my original code?

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:14 am
by Gallium
I ran your code exactly and it doesn't generate any report?

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:29 am
by BillyBoyo
Line 4 of your original was "/*. It, like "END", is not required. If someone tells you to use it, OK, use it. Put it as line 4.

Until you find out what sysout class you should use, try H and X if that doesn't work.

Here's the report your re-formatted code produces:

HEADER1     HEADER2     HEADER3                           
-------     -------     -----------------------------------
   1234     5           67890 12345 123456789           


If you can't see it, it's because it has "gone", I think.

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:48 am
by Gallium
I am completely confused! Line 4 of my original was:

//IN DD DSN=DATASET.GIVEN.BY.LECTURER,DISP=SHR


Line 8 was:



Also, I am not getting that. How do I bring up the report?

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:47 pm
by BillyBoyo
Since I don't have your data-file, I invented one of my own and put it as an instream file (the //IN DD *). You just change the * to your dataset name.

If you've got nowhere with my suggestions for where your output is, you're going to have to ask your tutor/colleagues/support. Have a look at any example JCL from your tutue, and see what SYSOUT= said. Also, is that youre entire JOB card? There's usually more to it than that. Check that at the same time.

Re: Unable to view report generated by ICETOOL

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2014 7:02 pm
by NicC
Try using SYSOUT=*. This directs your output to the same output class as your job messages so when you put a ? beside you job (not S) you will see RPT and you can Select that.