Unable to create a report



IBM's flagship sort product DFSORT for sorting, merging, copying, data manipulation and reporting. Includes ICETOOL and ICEGENER

Unable to create a report

Postby sl00872 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:16 am

Hi,
I am trying to make a report with display and sort, but it would not create the report at first place.
My code is:
//EXAMP JOB A402,PROGRAMMER
//TOOLRUN EXEC PGM=ICETOOL,REGION=1024K
//TOOLMSG DD SYSOUT=*
//DFSMSG DD SYSOUT=*
//REPORT DD SYSOUT=*
//TOOLIN DD *
  SORT FROM (IN) TO (SORTTEMP)
  INCLUDE COND=(31,1,CH,EQ,C,'P')
  SORT FIELDS=(23,8,CH,A,71,2,CH,A)
  SUM FIELDS=(60,11,ZD)
  DEFAULTS LIST(SHOWDEF)
  DISPLAY FROM(SORTTEMP) LIST(REPORT)-
  TITLE('PAYMENTS BY TELLER') PAGE -
  HEADER('TELLER') ON(23,8,CH)-
  HEADER('PAYMENTS') ON (60,11,ZD)-
  BTITLE('TRANSFER TYPE') BREAK(71,2,CH)-
  BTOTAL('SUBTOTAL')
/*
//IN DD DSN='SOME.INPUT.DATASET', DISP=SHR
//SORTTEMP DD DSN=&&SORTTEMP,DCB=SURCICS.ZEUSBANK.TXNOFFLD
//SHOWDEF DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTOUT DD DSN=&&SORTTEMP
 

I was expecting a report, but that didn't happen.
Edited to remove real data set name
sl00872
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 3:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Unable to create a report

Postby steve-myers » Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:45 am

Well, golly gee. It's nice to hear that. What error messages did you get? We have to know that to provide any assistance. You have to know this to diagnose the error yourself. We will not attempt to analyze your entire job ourselves. That is not what what we're here for. You want that type of consultant service you or your employer can go out and hire a consultant.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: Unable to create a report

Postby sl00872 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:52 am

Thanks for the reply, well since it is not a JCL error on the SDSF, I believe that ICETOOL reads the control statements of the TOOLIN sysin as empty so it cannot produce the report. Can you show me what could be the correct sysin names for DFSORT and ICETOOL to find JCL?
sl00872
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 3:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Unable to create a report

Postby NicC » Sat Aug 17, 2019 4:04 pm

The manual has sample JCL for both DFSort and ICETOOL.
What return code did you get from ICETOOL?
What is in SDSF for TOOLMSG, DFSMSG, REPORT and SHOWDEF?
Have yu tried making the temporary SORTOUT dataset permanent whilst diagnosing so that you can check what is in it?
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Unable to create a report

Postby sl00872 » Sat Aug 17, 2019 6:25 pm

Reutrn code is 0012
In the SDSF, it only makes a TOOLMSG, there is no DFSMSG, REPORT and SHOWDEF.
The JES2 JOB STATISTICS in the JESMSGLG shows that there are 22 cards read, 106 sysout print records, 0 susout prunch records, 9 sysout spool kbytes and 0.00 minutes execution time. I assumed that it could run the JCL but it could not create the report at first place, but I am not sure.
I tried making it a permanent dataset to show whats inside, but it ends up having the same problem.
sl00872
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 3:24 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Unable to create a report

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Sat Aug 17, 2019 6:53 pm

we would like to see the 106 sysout print records

if You keep on in this way people will lose interest in helping You

even for a beginner some basic skills are still required ...
the most important is ..
being able to use SDSF to look at the output of a job
separate the different <sysout> datasets
post the content of relevant ones

without that very little we can do
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Unable to create a report

Postby NicC » Sun Aug 18, 2019 1:26 am

We would also need to see sample input and and the expected report from that sample. Also, what are the data set characteristics of the input data set - recfm, lrecl?
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Unable to create a report

Postby sergeyken » Mon Aug 19, 2019 8:36 pm

The syntax of the original example is wrong - from top to bottom.

The result of this run is as expected - as if it was an attempt to run a randomly generated sequence of words.

1) There are multiple samples of reporting jobs available; use them as starting point.

2) Besides of "error code 12" the ICETOOL also issued a lot of error messages in plain English. Do you speak English?
2.1) If no - take training classes on English.
2.2) If yes - please, read the messages from ICETOOL utility, and try to understand their meaning.
2.2.1) If the problem is clear - fix it, and run again
2.2.2) If (only) something is not clear then ask for help from Forum.
Javas and Pythons come and go, but JCL and SORT stay forever.
User avatar
sergeyken
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:12 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 40 times


Return to DFSORT/ICETOOL/ICEGENER

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post