Page 1 of 1

ICETOOL using, but got no result, RC=0

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:46 pm
by mapleleaf35
I just try to use ICETOO to SELECT data from file1 to file2. when I sub the jcl, get return code with 0, but i can't find any result from log or the output file. alas.

//USER989 JOB (USER989),'RUN SELECT',CLASS=2,MSGCLASS=H,NOTIFY=&SYSUID   
//STEP1  EXEC PGM=ICETOOL                                               
//TOOLMSG DD SYSOUT=*                                                 
//DFSMSG DD SYSOUT=*                                                 
//IN1 DD DSN=USER989.TEST.MY(INFILE1),DISP=SHR                           
//OUT1 DD DSN=USER989.TEST.MY(OUTPF),SPACE=(CYL,(5,5)),
//   DISP=(MOD,CATLG,DELETE)                                                             
//TOOLIN DD                 
 SELECT FROM(IN1) TO(OUT1) ON(1,10,CH) FIRST                       
/*                                                                   



COMMAND INPUT ===> SCROLL ===> PAGE
ICE600I 0 DFSORT ICETOOL UTILITY RUN STARTED

ICE650I 0 VISIT http://www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort FOR ICETOOL PAPERS, EXAMPLES

ICE632I 0 SOURCE FOR ICETOOL STATEMENTS: TOOLIN


ICE630I 0 MODE IN EFFECT: STOP


ICE601I 0 DFSORT ICETOOL UTILITY RUN ENDED - RETURN CODE: 00

Re: ICETOOL using, but got no result, RC=0

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:02 pm
by Frank Yaeger
//TOOLIN DD                 
SELECT FROM(IN1) TO(OUT1) ON(1,10,CH) FIRST                       
/*               


Try

//TOOLIN DD *
SELECT FROM(IN1) TO(OUT1) ON(1,10,CH) FIRST                       
/*               


I get a JCL error when I don't have the *, but perhaps you're getting further than that for some reason. At any rate, it appears that without the *, your TOOLIN is empty.

Re: ICETOOL using, but got no result, RC=0

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:23 pm
by mapleleaf35
ah, yes, 3x. but may i have another quetions? If i wrote code like below, can it be possible that get RC=0,But the OUT1 doesn't contain all expected data? in which situation? thanks in advance.
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=ICETOOL                         
//TOOLMSG DD SYSOUT=*                         
//DFSMSG DD SYSOUT=*                         
//IN1 DD DSN=USER989.TEST.FILE1,DISP=SHR                 
//IN2 DD DSN=USER989.TEST.FILE2,DISP=SHR                 
//OUT1 DD DSN=USER989.TEST.OUT1,UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(CYL,(5,5)),
//   DISP=(MOD,CATLG,DELETE)                   
//TOOLIN DD *                                 
SELECT FROM(IN1) TO(OUT1) ON(1,5,CH) FIRST     
SELECT FROM(IN2) TO(OUT1) ON(1,5,CH) FIRST     
/*

Re: ICETOOL using, but got no result, RC=0

PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 11:09 pm
by Frank Yaeger
If i wrote code like below, can it be possible that get RC=0,But the OUT1 doesn't contain all expected data? in which situation?


If you get RC=0, then DFSORT/ICETOOL did what you told it do to do. If your OUT1 did not contain all expected data, then you most likely didn't tell DFSORT/ICETOOL to do what you wanted done. Since I don't know what your input or output contained, I can't tell you what you did wrong.

One common error is when you have RECFM=VB but you use position 1 as the starting position instead of position 5. For a VB record, positions 1-4 have the RDW, so the data starts in position 5, not position 1. But that's just one possibility.

If you want more help on this, show an example of the records in your input files (relevant fields only), what you got for output, and what you expected for output. Give the RECFM and LRECL of your input files.