Pulling Spool Details using REXX



Ask queries about other IBM Tools like Tivoli, COBTEST, Fault Analyzer, z/OS File Manager, Workload Simulator, APA, SCLM, Merge & Migration Tools etc...

Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby raj_kumar08 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:19 pm

Hi,

I have written the following code in Rexx and have the following queries

1. I have to give OR option in isfprefix so that output can be either on A5482DB1 OR B5482DB1 or both. The following code only giving results for B5482DB1
2. If we need to give many filters, then how do i continue giving filters to next line if the line is full. If we can give different filters at different lines, thats fine.
3. Lets suppose the filer gives me a same jobame 2 or more times. How can i take the latest one or latest 2
4. In Line 21 in below code, what is the name for Date and Time variables to display in output? Again here in Line 21, how to continue giving display variables in second line if the first line is full


000004 Trace  "O"                                                 
000005 Parse Source _sys _how _cmd .                               
000006 parse arg args                                             
000007 IsfRC = isfcalls("ON")                                     
000008 if IsfRC ¬= 0 then do                                       
000009     say "isfcalls RC" IsfRC                                 
000010     exit                                                   
000011 end                                                         
000012 isfprefix = "A5482DB1 "                                       
000013 isfprefix = "B5482DB1 "                                       
000014 isffilter = "queue = print"                                 
000015 Address SDSF "isfexec st"                                   
000016 if RC ¬= 0 then do                                         
000017     say "isfexec  RC" RC                                   
000018     exit                                                   
000019 end                                                         
000020 do ij = 1 to jname.0                                       
000021     say right(ij,2) jname.ij jobid.ij ownerid.ij retcode.ij
000022 end                   
000023 call  isfcalls "OFF" 
000024 exit                 
raj_kumar08
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby thangaraaj555 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:31 pm

Hi,,

Please use outtrap to get the job id.. and use the job id to search the job in the spool.. don't search using the job name...

Hope this helps!
thangaraaj555
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:17 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby raj_kumar08 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:43 pm

Hi,

Thanks for the qucik reply. I know the job names i need to search. There are many fixed job names. So if i get the answers of questions i asked, it will be of much help.
raj_kumar08
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby expat » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:46 pm

Why not pull the list of all jobs on the output queue and then filter by invoking sort perhaps, or just by one by one comparison until you have all the information required for all jobs that you need to further process.
expat
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:14 pm

I have written the following code in Rexx and have the following queries

You are a liar... :evil:
You did not ... You just copied a snippet posted here and... guess who posted it

Your dishonesty makes the chances of getting help pretty slim !
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:42 pm

Follow on
if You had just told.. I pulled from the forum this snippet and modified it to ...
most probably the author of the snippet... me , would have been glad to tell how to get more out of it,
( I always follow up my coding examples to provide corrections and enhancements )
but the people must learn to behave a bit
Last edited by enrico-sorichetti on Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby thangaraaj555 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:51 pm

Hi Enrico,

this is for you,
I just saw the code.. I was little curious to know...

Could you please explain the following
isfprefix = "A5482DB1 "
isfprefix = "B5482DB1 "
isffilter = "queue = print"

These are system variable or user variables... What will the above code do with these variables? I don't understand!
thangaraaj555
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:17 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby raj_kumar08 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 3:40 pm

To enrico-sorichetti: No i have not copied it from anywhere...My TL gave me this code to work on further.
raj_kumar08
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby raj_kumar08 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 3:40 pm

Please let me know if somebody can help me in this code?
raj_kumar08
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Pulling Spool Details using REXX

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Thu Oct 13, 2011 4:10 pm

No i have not copied it from anywhere...My TL gave me this code to work on further.

well... Your TL has not written it either :evil: see here
http://ibmmainframes.com/about54926.html

I am the only one around with that coding style

it is not an issue of copyright or similar ... it is just an issue of good manners
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Next

Return to Other IBM Tools

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post