Page 2 of 3

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 11:16 am
by rupa888
Hi,
When i run the following command in the command line,it invoked the filemaster plus in edit mode and it is working fine.
%CAWAXEDT
But when i invoked this macro(CAWAXEDT) in my rexx macro,it is invoking filemaster plus in edit mode.But when i tried editing it,it is giving edit error.
Code:
"ISREDIT MACRO"
CSRDATA ="FU601.FIB52014.OUTPUT"
ADDRESS ISPEXEC
ISPEXEC "VIEW DATASET ("CSRDATA") MACRO(CAWAXEDT)"

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:08 pm
by NicC
Ok - give us a clue! Which of the hundreds of edit errors possible did it give? What ws the result of turning on Trace in you macro? I suspect you have an extra high level index added by tso.

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 12:55 pm
by rupa888
hi nic,
i found out the solution for my problem.So now my macro F1 is invoking the filemaster plus and it is working fine.but the issue is,it is not opening the proper dataset.Please find the document attached for the screenshots.

REXX macro :F1
"ISREDIT MACRO"
ADDRESS ISPEXEC
CALL "CAWAEDT"
RETURN


Code'd. Attachment deleted.

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:06 pm
by BillyBoyo
Please copy/paste screenshots and include them in the Code tags to preserve spacing.

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:10 pm
by BillyBoyo
Why do you use F1 to start this up. Pretty much everywhere, F1 is the key for Help. Makes it very confusing when also used for something else.

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:22 pm
by rupa888
Hi BillyBoyo,
I have renamed my macro as 'fe'.Please find the screenshots below:

Menu  Options  View  Utilities  Compilers  Help                             
 ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
 DSLIST - Data Sets Matching FU601.SVI.GARSCA4M.SORTFS92             Row 1 of 1
 Command ===>                                                  Scroll ===> CSR 
                                                                               
 Command - Enter "/" to select action                  Message           Volume
 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 fe       FU601.SVI.GARSCA4M.SORTFS92                                    F601F7
 ***************************** End of Data Set list ****************************


When i run my macro,it is invoking the filemaster plus in edit mode as below:


 ---------------------  CA File Master Plus -- Edit Dataset --------------------
 COMMAND ===>                                                                   
                                                                               
 Specify Dataset to Edit:                                                       
   Dataset name   ===> FU601.NBF.SVI.RENDIFID.NORNOD                           
   Member name    ===>                                                         
   Volume         ===>                  If dataset not cataloged               
                                                                               
 Record Layout for Formatted Displays:                                         
   Layout dataset ===>                                                         
   Layout member  ===>                                                         
                                                                               
 Selection Criteria below  or  Selection Criteria Member ===>                   
 ===>                                                                           
 ===>                                                                           
 ===>                                                                           
                                                                               
 Display mode  ===> C ( C Character S Single-rec Format M Multi-rec Format )   
 Change Log    ===> N ( Y for logging Edit changes)     



But the problem is,it should invoke it with dataset name 'FU601.SVI.GARSCA4M.SORTFS92 ' instead of FU601.NBF.SVI.RENDIFID.NORNOD .So could you tell me how to do that

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:50 pm
by NicC
You have been asked to use the code tags to make your screenshots readable (green on black like a "green screen"). If you are not prepared to do what is asked of you to make our task easier then why should we help you?

Back to your problem...
I am not sure but I would not try and execute a macro like you have - usually it is a command or a rexx exec. So that could be the start of your problem. Also it looks as though the filemaster 'macro' is not a macro but a program and it gets which file to populate the panel with from one of the variable pools.

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:34 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Your post has been "Code'd". Keep in mind it is much easier to delete posts than clean them up . . .

And it is trivial for the poster to Code things . . .

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 11:26 am
by rupa888
Hi,
Thanks for your reply.Sorry i was not able to paste the screenshot over there.
I have a requirement to do this macro and it will be useful to us.

Re: rexx - invoking filemaster plus

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:28 pm
by rupa888
hi all,
my macro is working now...