GDG



Post anything related to mainframes (IBM & UNISYS) if not fit in any of the above categories

GDG

Postby dn2012 » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:07 am

Hello All,

For our billing process we received files from program group on regular basis. Sometimes they send us multiple files too. Program group place the file in the following DS.
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0172V00
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0173V00
We created the new member in USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE (TCISmmdd).
We copied dataset provided by programming group as
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA into new member TCIS0222
We edited existing member USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(JOBRUN)
//SORT EXEC PGM=SORT
//SORTIN DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(DEFAULT)
// DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(CWS)
// DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(TCIS0222)
// DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(PDB) ## 10/28/11
// DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(ETRS1211)



After that we submitted the job and its updates.
Now we want to use GDG for this purpose.
I have created GDG base as below:

//********************************************************
//* JCL FOR CREATING GDG
//********************************************************
//GDG EXEC PGM=IDCAMS
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD *

DEFINE GENERATIONDATAGROUP -
(NAME(FAKE.USA.ITT.SOURCE.DATA.GDG) -
LIMIT(10) SCRATCH)
//*
******************************** Bottom of Data **********

Following entries are existing in USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(JOBRUN).

//SORTOUT DD DISP=OLD,DSN= USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE.DATA.GDG
//INPUT DD DISP=OLD,DSN= USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE.GDG


What else I need to do?

Thank You
dn2012
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:10 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: GDG

Postby Akatsukami » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:20 am

You realize that your post is not only full of typos and conceptual errors, but hopelessly clear?
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: GDG

Postby dn2012 » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:51 am

I am looking for answer, thanks
dn2012
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:10 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: GDG

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:59 am

am looking for answer, thanks

good luck!
if You want answers, or <good> answers You need to post a better description of Your requirement/problem
the question as posed does not invite people to spend time on it!
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: GDG

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:03 am

Your "explanation" is as clear as mud. When you say
Now we want to use GDG for this purpose.
what purpose are you talking about? Your entire post makes absolutely no sense -- I'm not sure if there is a language barrier or if you really have absolutely no idea what you are wanting to do, what your site has done already, or how to get to where you want to go from where you are. For example, you said
We created the new member in USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE (TCISmmdd).
without explaining WHAT new member, why you need to create a new member, or if this is the file you want to replace with a GDG, or are you wanting to copy this file to a GDG, or what?
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: GDG

Postby dn2012 » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:08 am

This is the file we replace. (TCISmmdd).

Yes, we want to copy to GDG.
dn2012
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:10 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: GDG

Postby NicC » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:10 am

Taking a wild guess...
Create a gdgbase - IDCAMS - which you have shown.
Any dataset that is to be part of the gdg should now be changed to gdgbase(+1) when being created
Any dataset that belongs to the gdgbase should be referred to by its relative generation number e.g. gdgbase(0) gdgbase(-1) etc or by the base name only if all generations are to be concatenated. Note that for the latter scenario the latest data will be read first and the oldest last.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: GDG

Postby dn2012 » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:19 am

Nic,

I have created a gdgbase.

FAKE.USA.ITT.SOURCE.DATA.GDG

Files were placed by group is under following PDS
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA

Do I need to copy files to FAKE.USA.ITT.SOURCE.DATA.GDG?
If not, what should I do?
dn2012
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:10 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: GDG

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:41 am

Do I need to copy files to FAKE.USA.ITT.SOURCE.DATA.GDG?
If not, what should I do?
This is a question that can only be answered at your site. This is an issue of system design, and systems can be designed in multiple ways. Depending upon your system and its design, the answer could be -- yes copy files -- or no, don't copy files -- or, get more information to make that decision.

If the decision AT YOUR SITE is to copy the files, you'll need to decide if they need to be copied, member by member, from the PDS into separate generations of the GDG or if all the members can be concatenated into a copy to a single generation of the GDG. Again, this is a system design issue and not something to be answered except by technical experts at your site.

Further, if this work is for a customer, you may find that the customer has some specific requirements that must be met -- yet another system design issue.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: GDG

Postby dn2012 » Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:41 am

we do not need to copy any file to gdg.

Our files resides under following DS
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA

we copied file onto TCISmmdd as below:

//*******************************************************************
//*CREATE A MEMBER THRU IEBGENER UTILITY,COPY MULTIPLE FILES(MEMEBRS)
//*ONTO ONE FILE (MEMBER)
//*******************************************************************

//STEP010 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//SYSUT1 DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0172V00,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0173V00,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0174V00,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0175V00,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0176V00,DISP=SHR
//SYSUT2 DD DSN=IMSTESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(TCIS0222),DISP=SHR
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
Command ===>
000020 //*SYSUT1 DD *
000021 //*
****** **************************** Bottom of Data *****


Then we need to call GDG in the existing USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(JOBRUN).
Please find attached code.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dn2012
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:10 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to All other Mainframe Topics