Page 1 of 1

How to use a string in a sendkeys statement?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:47 am
by PuddinPie
Hello,

I'm trying to DIM out a string variable and then use it in a send keys.
I can't seem to get he syntax correct for the sendkeys using the AccountMSCD variable.

For example:
DIM AccountMSCD as string
'Getting a variable from PComm using VBA.
    AccountMSCD = objECLPS.GetText(7, 36, 6)
‘Trying to send that string but I can't get the syntax correct.
    objECLPS.SendKeys = (AccountMSCD, 6, 16)


Thank you.

Re: How to use a string in a sendkeys statement?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:24 pm
by nareshv_99
Hello,

use objECLPS.SendKeys(AccountMSCD, 6, 16). I think this should work.

Re: How to use a string in a sendkeys statement?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:45 pm
by PuddinPie
It did not work. It's erroring saying that it's expecting "=" and adding the "=" does not work either.

Re: How to use a string in a sendkeys statement?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:50 pm
by BillyBoyo
You have to post the full details of any messages and show the exact statement you used.

Re: How to use a string in a sendkeys statement?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:12 pm
by nareshv_99
I use below code to interact Excel with Mainframe

Sample given below:

Set autECLConnMgrObj = CreateObject("PCOMM.autECLConnMgr")
Set autECLOIAObj = CreateObject("PCOMM.autECLOIA")
Set autECLSessionObj = CreateObject("PCOMM.autECLSession")
Set autECLPSObj = CreateObject("PCOMM.autECLPS")
autECLOIAObj.SetConnectionByName ("A")
autECLPSObj.SendKeys ("abcd")

and it works for me.. check if you are using correct Object to call SendKeys

Re: How to use a string in a sendkeys statement?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 2:32 am
by NicC
Looks to me like this is NOT mainframe topic but a PC topic, in particular Excel. Just because you are going to send the file to the mainframe does not make it a topic for a mainframe forum. Find an Excel forum.

Re: How to use a string in a sendkeys statement?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:20 pm
by Ed Goodman
Nic,

I vote for giving this some leeway because it's a terminal emulator issue. The idea of using PC tools to work with mainframe tech seems to be at least somewhat relevant.

Re: How to use a string in a sendkeys statement?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:31 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

And there is more of this kind of "overlap" coming rather than less . . . ;)

d