Overriding DFSORT Default



Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby Aki88 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 3:08 pm

Hello,

Before anything else - my apologies for this dumb query, I somehow am unable to interpret the simple English from DFSORT Installation and Customization manual.

z/OS: 2.2
DFSORT: 2.2

Query: I am trying to modify the EXPMAX/EXPOLD/TUNE values at runtime; after a few failed attempts trying to add *PARM* options to JCL, I need to ask - is it even possible? From what I understand ICEPRM and ICEIEXIT options override the DFSORT defaults, but one needs to have requisite accesses to modify the **.PARMLIB, which I am assuming refers to SYS1.PARMLIB (or site specific PARMLIB). OPTIONS doesn't feature EXPMAX, which falls only under ICEAM1, which again is in the PARMLIB; or just as I've stated in the opening statement - I am somehow not comprehending correctly to what the manual states.

It'd be really helpful if someone can kindly show me how this can be done i.e. pass these options (EXPMAX for starters) to a DFSORT JCL at runtime (if it is possible). :oops:

Thank you.
Aki88
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:52 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Wed Jul 13, 2016 3:13 pm

the DFSPARM DD perhaps ?
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby Aki88 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 3:21 pm

Hello Enrico,

Thank you; that was the first thing that I'd attempted; pasting only the relevant portion of code (the SORT card has other chunk of code as well):


//DFSPARM  DD *                          
 EXPMAX=10%,EXPOLD=MAX,EXPRES=0,TUNE=OLD
/*                                      
 


SYSOUT:


ICE000I 1 - CONTROL STATEMENTS FOR 5650-ZOS, Z/OS DFSORT V2R2
           EXPMAX=10%,EXPOLD=MAX,EXPRES=0,TUNE=OLD          
           $          $          $        $                  
ICE236I 0 OPTIONS: DYNAPCT=10 ,MOWRK=Y,TUNE=STOR,EXPMAX=MAX    ,EXPOLD=50%    ,EXPRES=10%
ICE084I 0 BSAM ACCESS METHOD USED FOR SORTOUT                            
ICE084I 0 BSAM ACCESS METHOD USED FOR SORTIN                            
ICE751I 2 EF-I29500 F0-BASE   DA-I29500                                  
ICE805I 1 JOBNAME: TEST     , STEPNAME: STEP045                          
ICE802I 0 BLOCKSET     TECHNIQUE IN CONTROL                              
ICE906I 0 ST=ABOVE,SR=6291456,RC=0                                      
ICE907I 0 ST=ABOVE,SA=6291440,NF=1,LF=6291440,SF=6291440                
ICE906I 0 ST=BELOW,SR=1073152,RC=0                                      
ICE907I 0 ST=BELOW,SA=1073136,NF=1,LF=1073136,SF=1073136                
ICE889I 0 CT=MAX     , SB=8, L=0, D=0000, CCW=1MAM                      
ICE902I 0 O PP10  I PP10                                                
ICE906I 1 ST=ABOVE,SR=6205056,RC=0                                      
ICE907I 1 ST=ABOVE,SA=6205040,NF=1,LF=6205040,SF=6205040                
ICE906I 1 ST=BELOW,SR=138718,RC=0                                        
ICE907I 1 ST=BELOW,SA=69064,NF=1,LF=69064,SF=69064                      
ICE185A 0 AN S222  ABEND WAS ISSUED BY DFSORT, ANOTHER PROGRAM OR AN EXIT (PHASE C 3)
 


SORTSNAP opening lines:


  PSW AT ENTRY TO SNAP    078D1000  00D4F5CE  ILC  02  INTC  0033
PSW LOAD MODULE             ADDRESS = 00E52810  OFFSET = 00000338
NAME=IGG019BB                                                    
 


Another desperate attempt adding OPTIONS statement (knowing it well that EXPMAX doesn't feature on it; just for the heck of it):


//DFSPARM  DD *                                
 OPTION EXPMAX=10%,EXPOLD=MAX,EXPRES=0,TUNE=OLD
/*                                              
 



SYSOUT:


ICE000I 1 - CONTROL STATEMENTS FOR 5650-ZOS, Z/OS DFSORT V2R2
           OPTION EXPMAX=10%,EXPOLD=MAX,EXPRES=0,TUNE=OLD    
                  $                                          
ICE095A 0 INVALID OPTION STATEMENT OPERAND                    
ICE140I 0 END OF PARAMETERS FROM DFSPARM  - SYSIN OR SORTCNTL/PARAMETER LIST CONTROL STATEMENTS FOLLOW
           OPTION COPY                                        
           INREC FINDREP=(IN=(X'00',X'0C'),OUT=X'40')        
ICE751I 0 C5-BASE   C6-BASE   C7-BASE   C8-I29500 E7-BASE    
ICE052I 3 END OF DFSORT                                      
 


Best Regards.
Aki88
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:52 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Wed Jul 13, 2016 3:25 pm

Unfortunately You will have to do a bit more reading ;)
IIRC not all the options can be overridden in the DFSPARM DD
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby Aki88 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 3:30 pm

Hello Enrico,

enrico-sorichetti wrote:IIRC not all the options can be overridden in the DFSPARM DD


You're spot on; which is what made me wonder if a programmer is even allowed to play around with these options at runtime.
Have been trying to dig around, but almost every place I've come across have quoted the manuals verbatim; rarely has anyone shown a real-time application of it.

Digging Further, Digging Further, Digging Further
Aki88
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:52 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Wed Jul 13, 2016 3:36 pm

the logic is that the end user can modify ONLY the options that are NOT a danger for the overall system performance and stability.
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby Aki88 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 5:22 pm

Hello Enrico,

Totally agree; but this is causing a problem.
Just the way history would have it, most of the errors are caused due to bad coding; and fixing the entire chunk of code in one-go is a behemoth; until we are fixing the entire thing, need to put in a workaround to handle the workload for the time-being. Issue is because at quite a lot of places wherein intermediate files are required to be sorted, SORTIN and SORTOUT DS are same. SORT code though is fairly simple (in a way irrelevant to the actual issue, only the COPY or FIELDS=(p,m,f,s) matter the most here):

Code:


OPTION COPY
INREC FINDREP=(IN=(X'00',X'0C'),OUT=X'40')
 


Problem: the moment data in SORTIN DS exceeds a few Mils, the number of records being handled goes down. For example, for an input of: 1623600 records, out had only: 1443600 records; now, this is something which was working normally on DFSORT 1.12, default; 2.2, DEFAULT options, and whole thing in a way - crashed. When the storage is increased, the number of records being written, gradually increase, until we reach the threshold SPACE value for which all records are processed.

Which was why I was trying to tweak the defaults to see if modifying the values to older default or another value helps out, any guidance on how these can be overridden in JCL itself (and not the **.PARMLIB), would be really helpful.
Aki88
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:52 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby Robert Sample » Wed Jul 13, 2016 7:01 pm

Page 18 of this Share presentation DFSMS DFSORT: Resource Usage and Understanding states that EXPMAX, EXPOLD, EXPRES are installation options -- I would not expect them to be changeable except by a system programmer modifying PARMLIB (if then). Since they apply to all DFSORT applications executing at any given time, and not just a single invocation, it would not make sense for them to be modifiable by parameters in the JCL.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Overriding DFSORT Default

Postby Aki88 » Wed Jul 13, 2016 7:12 pm

Thank you Robert, you raise a very valid point; :( I really hope that it is not so, else it'd be a dud. An application programmer can really not come up with a viable number for these parameters unless they go about a hit/trial with different types of data, building samples. We can recommend a number for these parms but that would be pure conjecture. Can you please recommend another way which we can use to tweak the defaults for the time-being until the application environment is modified.

Best Regards.
Aki88
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:52 pm
Has thanked: 33 times
Been thanked: 36 times


Return to Stupid Questions