Page 1 of 1

cobol IDE for windows

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:24 pm
by Pumpkin
hi,
is there any free IDE for cobol programming in Windows environment,because i am new student in mainframe,and don't know how to compile and test cobol code in mainframe environment yet. thanks in advance

Re: cobol IDE for windows

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:48 pm
by Quasar
Pumpkin -

I bet, its not a herculean task to compile-link and run COBOL Modules on the Mainframes. On the contrary, you might have to spend a significant amount of time, in setting up an IDE(Like Eclipse or MS Visual Studio) with the appropriate plugins.

Here's a sample Compile-Link Job, that you could use to get started. You just need to plug-in the values of the parameters, like what's your Program Name, what's the Source Code Library, what's you Load-Library and so on. Should be good enough to get your hands wet.

//SYSADMC  JOB A123,'BIN-7 QUASAR',CLASS=A,MSGCLASS=Y,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//*=================================================================
//*          zOS Enterprise  COBOL Compile-Link-Edit Job           |
//*                      Global  Parameters                        |
//*                                                                |
//*          Parameter  Value                 Description          |
//*          ---------  --------------------- --------------       |
//         SET PROGRAM='PROG10'               PROGRAM NAME         |
//         SET  SRCLIB='SYSADM.DEMO.SRCLIB'   SOURCE LIBRARY       |
//         SET COPYLIB='SYSADM.DEMO.COPYLIB'  COPY LIBRARY         |
//         SET LOADLIB='SYSADM.DEMO.LOADLIB'  LOAD LIBRARY         |
//         SET COBPRFX='IGY310'               COBOL LIBRARY        |
//*=================================================================
//COMPILE EXEC PGM=IGYCRCTL,REGION=2048K,
//             PARM='LIB,SSRANGE,XREF,LIST,MAP,OFFSET,FLAG(W,W)'
//STEPLIB  DD  DSN=&COBPRFX..SIGYCOMP,DISP=SHR
//SYSLIB   DD  DSN=&COPYLIB,DISP=SHR
//SYSIN    DD  DSN=&SRCLIB(&PROGRAM),DISP=SHR
//SYSLIN   DD  DSNAME=&&LOADSET,UNIT=SYSDA,
//             DISP=(MOD,PASS),SPACE=(TRK,(3,3)),
//             DCB=(BLKSIZE=3200)
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1   DD  UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1))
//SYSUT2   DD  UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1))
//SYSUT3   DD  UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1))
//SYSUT4   DD  UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1))
//SYSUT5   DD  UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1))
//SYSUT6   DD  UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1))
//SYSUT7   DD  UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1))
//LKED   EXEC  PGM=HEWL,REGION=1024K
//SYSLIB   DD  DSN=CEE.SCEELKED,DISP=SHR
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*
//SYSLIN   DD  DSN=&&LOADSET,DISP=(OLD,DELETE)
//SYSLMOD  DD  DSN=&LOADLIB(&PROGRAM),DISP=SHR
//SYSUT1   DD  UNIT=SYSDA,SPACE=(TRK,(10,10))



Thank you very much.

Re: cobol IDE for windows

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:51 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Whoever gave you the assignment to write cobol for the mainframe should have also provided the necessary compile/link jcl.

It is most often a very bad idea to use "your own". Also, if all of this is new to you, you may not know which datatasets from your system to use. . .

Suggest you talk with the instructor or someone who already compiles programs on your system.

Re: cobol IDE for windows

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:11 am
by Pumpkin
thanks a lot
i have 2 course this semester, jcl and cobol, all just begin a month ago.my cobol assignment didn't require us to compile, link and run the source code yet because JCL course did't went so far ,it just taught some basic syntax.
so ,thanks for your advice, i need to work on my JCL and try the sample compile and link.

Re: cobol IDE for windows

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:58 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

You will save yourself a lot of time and frustration if you can find all of the required datasets first.

Good luck :)

d

Re: cobol IDE for windows

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 1:46 pm
by Zio69
Dick and Quasar both gave you excellent adivce. And to answer your original question.... Nope, there's no free IDE to compile mainframe cobol on windows. There is a free IDE (http://www.opencobol.org/) but unfortunately it's not totally compatible with IBM standards.