Page 1 of 1

About continue line in cobol

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:52 pm
by Pumpkin
hi,
when i code a display statement, i want to display the literal and data value and the length need to take 2 lines, if i end first line with dataname ,and code a "-" in next line column 7,and quotation mark in B margin,and rest of literal. there is compile error,RC=4, it says a blank was missing before character " " " in column 12( which is the next line 's first character).

how to solve this ? thanks a lot!

Re: About continue line in cobol

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:36 pm
by Robert Sample
Post the literal and the compile message -- today is NOT psychic day.

Re: About continue line in cobol

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:14 am
by Pumpkin
[img]F:\test001.jpg[/img]

please see the posting img or attached jpg file, thanks !

Re: About continue line in cobol

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:17 am
by Robert Sample
You do NOT have a continuation line -- take the hyphen off and the code will compile. A continuation line requires you to have a literal that goes to the end of the line and continues to the next line. Your line ends with a variable name, and the literal ended before the variable name.

Re: About continue line in cobol

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:56 am
by Pumpkin
yes ,problem solved. thanks!

Re: About continue line in cobol

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:16 pm
by pmartyn
another tid-bit. Shouldn't you be using a GOBACK rather than a STOP RUN? The GOBACK will return control to the next highter level such as the calling program or operating system. A STOP RUN ceases all work. This means that if your STOP RUN is in a called module it will not return to the calling program. It will terminate the entire job.

Re: About continue line in cobol

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:27 pm
by enrico-sorichetti
why do You keep replying to ,in this case, 2 and more years old topics ???