Data availability in subprogram



Support for OS/VS COBOL, VS COBOL II, COBOL for OS/390 & VM and Enterprise COBOL for z/OS

Data availability in subprogram

Postby isai_22 » Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:27 pm

Hi...

I have read a file & displayed the necessary field n the main program. The value s correct.
After tat i make a call to another pgm (sub pgm) and wen i try to dispaly the same field,it displays junk values.

Note:
Select clause is the same in both programs.
Both programs are compiled succesfully.
The control goes to the sub program.

Please help me solving this scenario.
Thank U!!!
isai_22
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Data availability in subprogram

Postby BillyBoyo » Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:56 pm

You say you have a "select clause" in both programs. Don't. If you want to use a sub-program, don't try to read/write the same file as another program. Just asking for trouble.

What is your requirement, such that you feel the need to do this?
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: Data availability in subprogram

Postby Robert Sample » Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:59 pm

Why do you have a SELECT clause in the subprogram? SELECT statements are used to identify files, and you normally pass data to a subprogram by using CALL <subprogram> USING <variable list> with the subprogram having PROCEDURE DIVISION USING <variable list> and LINKAGE SECTION variables to match. There's no reason to have a SELECT statement in the subprogram.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times


Return to IBM Cobol

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post