Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or COB



Support for OS/VS COBOL, VS COBOL II, COBOL for OS/390 & VM and Enterprise COBOL for z/OS

Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or COB

Postby basmith11 » Mon May 07, 2012 10:34 pm

I am trying to create a PRINT file with the standard 132 characters using RECFM=FBA in the JCL. It keeps coming out as RECFM=FBM. This also makes it use machine characters for the carriage control and screws up the printer. I get the special characters only on the first line of the new page.
I have been working on this so long I cannot see what is causing the differences. Any clues???
JCL: //EG0430PA DD DSN=HEGL.TEST.REPORT.EG0430.BAS.TEST,
// DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
// UNIT=3390,
// SPACE=(TRK,(5,1),RLSE),
// DCB=(RECFM=FBA,LRECL=133,BLKSIZE=27930)
//*

PROGRAM: FD CNTPRTFL RECORDING MODE IS F
RECORD CONTAINS 132 CHARACTERS
LABEL RECORDS ARE OMITTED
DATA RECORD IS CNTPRT-REC.
01 CNTPRT-REC PIC X(132).


WRITE CNTPRT-REC FROM STDHEAD-REPORT-A-LINE-1 AFTER PAGE.

FILE:
Data Set Name . . . . : HEGL.TEST.REPORT.EG0430.BAS.TEST

General Data Current Allocation
Management class . . : NOMIGRAT Allocated tracks . : 2
Storage class . . . : STANDARD Allocated extents . : 1
Volume serial . . . : E2KT05
Device type . . . . : 3390
Data class . . . . . : MULTIVOL Current Utilization
Organization . . . : PS Used tracks . . . . : 2
Record format . . .: FBM Used extents . . . : 1
Record length . . . : 133
Block size . . . . : 27930
1st extent tracks . : 2
Secondary tracks . : 1
Data set name type : SMS Compressible : NO

REPORT:

HEGL.TEST.REPORT.EG0430.BAS.TEST
===>
***************************** Top of Data ******
» Ø This line has lots of x’00’ fields
RUN DATE : 5/07/2012 12:41

FOR PERIOD : 12/01/2011 - 1/31/2012
basmith11
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby Robert Sample » Mon May 07, 2012 10:57 pm

What is the hexadecimal value of the control character?
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby basmith11 » Mon May 07, 2012 11:47 pm

Most are x'00' as I stated above but the first line is:
» Ø
80380000000
B9B00000000
basmith11
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby BillyBoyo » Tue May 08, 2012 12:08 am

Are all your WRITEs to the file WRITE AFTER?
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby basmith11 » Tue May 08, 2012 12:12 am

yes they are
basmith11
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby BillyBoyo » Tue May 08, 2012 12:27 am

Are you using Compiler option ADV?
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby basmith11 » Tue May 08, 2012 12:29 am

Yes I am
basmith11
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby NicC » Tue May 08, 2012 12:33 am

Why is your file declared as 132 charcaters when the JCL has it as 133 characters?
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby basmith11 » Tue May 08, 2012 12:36 am

I believe that is the way to handle the carriage control when using FBA.

I have written many programs using the same format and I have never had this issue before. For the life of me I cannot figure out what is different. That is why I am asking for any assistance or questions that could jog something loose to help me find the answer.

Thanks....
basmith11
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Print file needs to be FBA, not FBM - not sure if JCL or

Postby NicC » Tue May 08, 2012 12:38 am

How do you then populate the required asa characters if you leave no space for them?
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Next

Return to IBM Cobol

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post