About continue line in cobol



Support for OS/VS COBOL, VS COBOL II, COBOL for OS/390 & VM and Enterprise COBOL for z/OS

About continue line in cobol

Postby Pumpkin » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:52 pm

hi,
when i code a display statement, i want to display the literal and data value and the length need to take 2 lines, if i end first line with dataname ,and code a "-" in next line column 7,and quotation mark in B margin,and rest of literal. there is compile error,RC=4, it says a blank was missing before character " " " in column 12( which is the next line 's first character).

how to solve this ? thanks a lot!
-------------------
Pumpkin
Pumpkin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:12 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: About continue line in cobol

Postby Robert Sample » Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:36 pm

Post the literal and the compile message -- today is NOT psychic day.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: About continue line in cobol

Postby Pumpkin » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:14 am

[img]F:\test001.jpg[/img]

please see the posting img or attached jpg file, thanks !
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-------------------
Pumpkin
Pumpkin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:12 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: About continue line in cobol

Postby Robert Sample » Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:17 am

You do NOT have a continuation line -- take the hyphen off and the code will compile. A continuation line requires you to have a literal that goes to the end of the line and continues to the next line. Your line ends with a variable name, and the literal ended before the variable name.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: About continue line in cobol

Postby Pumpkin » Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:56 am

yes ,problem solved. thanks!
-------------------
Pumpkin
Pumpkin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 9:12 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: About continue line in cobol

Postby pmartyn » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:16 pm

another tid-bit. Shouldn't you be using a GOBACK rather than a STOP RUN? The GOBACK will return control to the next highter level such as the calling program or operating system. A STOP RUN ceases all work. This means that if your STOP RUN is in a called module it will not return to the calling program. It will terminate the entire job.
pmartyn
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:11 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: About continue line in cobol

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:27 pm

why do You keep replying to ,in this case, 2 and more years old topics ???
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times


Return to IBM Cobol

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post