Getting the JES number as a job is running



Support for OS/VS COBOL, VS COBOL II, COBOL for OS/390 & VM and Enterprise COBOL for z/OS

Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby hjyoungii » Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:30 pm

Is there a way to get the JES number during the time a job is running?

We have a project where we need to include in the file the JES number. Any help will greatly be appreciated.
hjyoungii
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:42 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby dick scherrer » Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:14 am

Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby hjyoungii » Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:22 pm

We do not have program IGYCRTL. What is it?
hjyoungii
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:42 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby Bill Dennis » Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:31 pm

Should be IGYCRCTL, the COBOL compiler.
Regards,

Bill Dennis

Disclaimer: My comments on this forum are my own and do not represent the opinions or suggestions of any other person or business entity.
Bill Dennis
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby hjyoungii » Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:38 pm

We are using Z/OS. I will have to see what the Cobol compiler is now called in that.
hjyoungii
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:42 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby hjyoungii » Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:10 pm

I appreciate your assistance. I took the Cobol part out of the JCL and compiled it. I then created the JCL to call the program and got exactly what we needed.
hjyoungii
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:42 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby MrSpock » Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:34 am

Is JES number considered to be the same thing as job number?

Maybe this would have been easier:
//STEP0001 EXEC PGM=EZACFSM1
//SYSIN    DD   *
STATUS (&JOBNAME)
/*
//SYSOUT   DD   DSN=&&T1,DISP=(,PASS),UNIT=VIO
//*
//STEP0002 EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01
//SYSTSPRT DD   SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSIN  DD   DSN=&&T1,DISP=(OLD,DELETE)
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby dick scherrer » Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:40 am

Hello,

Is JES number considered to be the same thing as job number?
Yes.

I've not yet tried this, but i would rather call the new module from within the code that needs the jes# and not add 2 more steps to the job.

Maybe someone will try the call and post back - i will also try later or over the weekend.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby dick scherrer » Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:14 am

Hello again,

Yup, the COB2JOB module can be called from some other cobol program.

Just modify the linkage section to receive the system info.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

Postby hjyoungii » Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:31 pm

Quite a few programs call the JES number the Job number. So yes. - I am guilty of it too. I work at a company now that calls things as they are.
hjyoungii
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:42 pm
Location: Des Moines, IA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to IBM Cobol

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post