Page 1 of 1

Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:30 pm
by hjyoungii
Is there a way to get the JES number during the time a job is running?

We have a project where we need to include in the file the JES number. Any help will greatly be appreciated.

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:14 am
by dick scherrer

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:22 pm
by hjyoungii
We do not have program IGYCRTL. What is it?

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:31 pm
by Bill Dennis
Should be IGYCRCTL, the COBOL compiler.

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:38 pm
by hjyoungii
We are using Z/OS. I will have to see what the Cobol compiler is now called in that.

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:10 pm
by hjyoungii
I appreciate your assistance. I took the Cobol part out of the JCL and compiled it. I then created the JCL to call the program and got exactly what we needed.

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 12:34 am
by MrSpock
Is JES number considered to be the same thing as job number?

Maybe this would have been easier:
//STEP0001 EXEC PGM=EZACFSM1
//SYSIN    DD   *
STATUS (&JOBNAME)
/*
//SYSOUT   DD   DSN=&&T1,DISP=(,PASS),UNIT=VIO
//*
//STEP0002 EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01
//SYSTSPRT DD   SYSOUT=*
//SYSTSIN  DD   DSN=&&T1,DISP=(OLD,DELETE)

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:40 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Is JES number considered to be the same thing as job number?
Yes.

I've not yet tried this, but i would rather call the new module from within the code that needs the jes# and not add 2 more steps to the job.

Maybe someone will try the call and post back - i will also try later or over the weekend.

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:14 am
by dick scherrer
Hello again,

Yup, the COB2JOB module can be called from some other cobol program.

Just modify the linkage section to receive the system info.

Re: Getting the JES number as a job is running

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:31 pm
by hjyoungii
Quite a few programs call the JES number the Job number. So yes. - I am guilty of it too. I work at a company now that calls things as they are.