sort with more than 2500 sort conditions



Support for NetApp SyncSort for z/OS, Visual SyncSort, SYNCINIT, SYNCLIST and SYNCTOOL

sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby shivkumar » Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:27 am

i have a problem while sorting with Syncsort utility, that main scenario is i m using VB file and my sort card have more that 2000.

I got an error as:

CND1CNTL :
SORT FIELDS=COPY
WER428I CALLER-PROVIDED IDENTIFIER IS "0001"
WER002A EXCESS CARDS
WER449I SYNCSORT GLOBAL DSM SUBSYSTEM ACTIVE
shivkumar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

want to sort more than 2500 records using Syncsort

Postby shivkumar » Fri Oct 26, 2007 12:21 pm

Can i use Syncsort utility for sort operation having more than 2500 sort conditions ?

If yes , please paste syntax.

thanks in advance
shivkumar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby William Thompson » Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:57 pm

shivkumar wrote:i have a problem while sorting with ICETOOL utility, that main scenario is i m using VB file and my sort card have more that 2000.

I got an error as:

CND1CNTL :
SORT FIELDS=COPY
WER428I CALLER-PROVIDED IDENTIFIER IS "0001"
WER002A EXCESS CARDS
WER449I SYNCSORT GLOBAL DSM SUBSYSTEM ACTIVE
Have you checked your Syncsort manual for the max number you can use?
What kind of conditions are you using? 2000 conditions on one field or a few conditions on 2000 fields?
Please post an example of your conditions....
William Thompson
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Tucson AZ
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby CICS Guy » Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:35 pm

shivkumar wrote:WER002A EXCESS CARDS

SyncSort for z/OS 1.2 Programmer’s Guide wrote:WER002A EXCESS CARDS
EXPLANATION: The static internal storage area is inadequate for the quantity and/or complexity of the control statements in this application. Either the minimum storage value set at installation time is too low, or insufficient storage is available in your region.
ACTION: Ask the systems programmer in charge of SyncSort installation to increase the minimum storage (MINCORE) value unless the storage available in the region is less than the minimum storage value. In that case, increase the storage available in the region or partition so that it at least equals the minimum storage value.
CICS Guy
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:08 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby dick scherrer » Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:00 am

Hello,

As has already been requested, post your requirements.

I suggest that if there is that much qualification going on there are better ways to meet your requirement than using 2500+ sort control statements.

Once we see what you are actually trying to accomplish, we may be able to offer some alternative.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby shivkumar » Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:34 am

I m using ICETOOL utility ,,,and for ur info..please see below code..
I m looking into it ,,,but always geeting user code 16 .

//TOOL EXEC PGM=ICETOOL,PARM='MINLIM=1M',REGION=2M
//**STEP EXEC PGM=SORT,REGION=1M
//DFSMSG DD SYSOUT=*
//TOOLMSG DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTWK01 DD UNIT=D,SPACE=(CYL,(100,50),RLSE)
//SORTWK02 DD UNIT=D,SPACE=(CYL,(100,50),RLSE)
//SORTWK03 DD UNIT=D,SPACE=(CYL,(100,50),RLSE)
//SORTWK04 DD UNIT=D,SPACE=(CYL,(100,50),RLSE)
//SORTWK05 DD UNIT=D,SPACE=(CYL,(100,50),RLSE)
//SORTIN DD DSN=PIL0.UI0504B0(0),DISP=SHR
//SORTOUT DD DSN=@LIQ2UZ.SORT2.OUT,DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
// UNIT=D,SPACE=(CYL,(750,400),RLSE),
// DCB=(RECFM=VB,BLKSIZE=35045)
//SYSIN DD *
//TOOLIN DD *
//SYSIN DD *
//TOOLIN DD *
SORT FROM(SORTIN) TO(SORTOUT) USING(CND1)
/*
//CND1CNTL DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
INCLUDE COND=(25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0012420',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0100691',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0252274',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0254739',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0254769',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0260369',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0261605',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0261669',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0274868',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0276483',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000LH0287683',OR,
25,12,CH,EQ,C'000L01268855',OR,
.....
..... these condtions having 2500 records.
.....
/*
//
shivkumar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby CICS Guy » Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:10 pm

shivkumar wrote:I m using ICETOOL utility ,,,and for ur info..please see below code..
I m looking into it ,,,but always geeting user code 16 .
Have you found what the MINCORE value is?
Have you looked int reducing the number of cards? The error in not too many conditions, it is too many cards......
How many of the leading characters of "C'000L0...' are the same for all?
How were the conditions generated? Could they be generated with more per record? You could use the reporting feature of Syncsort to combine multiple conditions per record.....
CICS Guy
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:08 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby shivkumar » Wed Oct 31, 2007 7:25 pm

Have you found what the MINCORE value is?
Have you looked int reducing the number of cards? The error in not too many conditions, it is too many cards......
How many of the leading characters of "C'000L0...' are the same for all?
How were the conditions generated? Could they be generated with more per record? You could use the reporting feature of Syncsort to combine multiple conditions per record.....

1 st. Nope i didnt found any MINCORE value
2.nd. I was tried with redusing cards, and it was nicely working with upto 350 cards,
but as per i know DFHSORT can work with so many condition cards (no limit)
3 rd. yes , same for all
4 th. conditions generated with according to records present in file.

i was tried on that but not getting MAXCC=0 ..

some one can please look into it ...
shivkumar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby CICS Guy » Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:50 pm

shivkumar wrote:1 st. Nope i didnt found any MINCORE value
That may be your greatest need.....
2.nd. I was tried with redusing cards, and it was nicely working with upto 350 cards,
but as per i know DFHSORT can work with so many condition cards (no limit)
The error implies it is a space condition that is relievable through increasing MINCORE
3 rd. yes , same for all
Find the part(s) that are identical for all (most) records and use that part once with an AND.....
some one can please look into it ...
I'm afraid that the ball is in your court...Like the manual said:
SyncSort for z/OS 1.2 Programmer’s Guide wrote wrote:ACTION: Ask the systems programmer in charge of SyncSort installation to increase the minimum storage (MINCORE) value...
CICS Guy
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 4:08 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: sort with more than 2500 sort conditions

Postby Alissa Margulies » Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:37 am

There is no numerical limit to the number of comparisons that can be in an Include or OMIT statement. The limitation is based upon your system resources, specifically MINCORE. (Mincore is a subset of your below the line resources.)

You can pass a MINCORE value as a runtime parameter. With over 2000 conditions, I recommended passing MINCORE=512K and increase in 256K increments if necessary. If you are still having a problem after 1.5M, please let me know.
Alissa Margulies
Syncsort Mainframe Product Services
201-930-8260
zos_tech@syncsort.com
Alissa Margulies
Global moderator
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:15 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Next

Return to Syncsort/Synctool

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post