Can we set RC dependent on number of records?



Support for NetApp SyncSort for z/OS, Visual SyncSort, SYNCINIT, SYNCLIST and SYNCTOOL

Can we set RC dependent on number of records?

Postby xyzabc » Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:00 pm

Hi,

Can we modify the follwing piece of code :-

//SORT1 EXEC PGM=SORT
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD DSN=Input.File,DISP=SHR
//SORTOUT DD DSN=Output.File,...
//SYSIN DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
OUTFIL FILES=OUT,TRAILER1=(1:COUNT),REMOVECC,NODETAIL
/*

so that the Return Code of step SORT1 is not zero when count is less or equal to two ?
xyzabc
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Can we set RC dependent on number of records?

Postby NicC » Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:38 pm

Your post has been split as you should not be tagging onto an old post and your requirement is somewhat different.

Now, what does your manual say?
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Can we set RC dependent on number of records?

Postby Akatsukami » Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:02 pm

xyzabc wrote:Hi,

Can we modify the follwing piece of code :-

//SORT1 EXEC PGM=SORT
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD DSN=Input.File,DISP=SHR
//SORTOUT DD DSN=Output.File,...
//SYSIN DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
OUTFIL FILES=OUT,TRAILER1=(1:COUNT),REMOVECC,NODETAIL
/*

so that the Return Code of step SORT1 is not zero when count is less or equal to two ?

Have you searched the *sort fora for NULLOFL?
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Can we set RC dependent on number of records?

Postby xyzabc » Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:19 pm

Thanks for all the help. I used the following Code :-

//JS020 EXEC PGM=ICETOOL
//TOOLMSG DD SYSOUT=*
//DFSMSG DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD DISP=SHR,DSN=WELLS.SORTIN
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//TOOLIN DD *
COUNT FROM(SORTIN) LOWER(1500) RC4
/*
//SYSUDUMP DD SYSOUT=*
/*
xyzabc
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Syncsort/Synctool

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post