Page 1 of 2

TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 9:57 am
by gauravuppal11
I want to convert a file USING TRAN=ETOA while copying it. Please help
How can i use TRAN=ETOA in the my ICETOOL job.
//SXXX         EXEC PGM=ICETOOL                 
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*,BUFNO=1                             
//TOOLMSG  DD  SYSOUT=*,BUFNO=1                             
//DFSMSG   DD  SYSOUT=*,BUFNO=1                             
//DD1      DD  DSN=node1.node2.node3.FILE,   
//             DISP=SHR                                     
//DD2      DD  DSN=node1.node2.node3.FILE.BKUP(+1),   
//             DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),                     
//             UNIT=&SYSPD,SPACE=(CYL,(15,5),RLSE),                                 
//             DCB=SYS2.MODEL
//TOOLMSG DD *
COPY FROM(DD1) TO(DD2)

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 2:52 pm
by BillyBoyo
Why do you want to do EBCDIC to ASCII?

Have you tried the manuals? If you find it yourself f is a better way for the knowledge to stick with you. If there is something you don't understand, post the details and someone will be here to help.

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 7:10 pm
by c62ap90
I saw these examples in a DFSORT manual. Maybe it can work for you. Not sure?

Change ASCII to EBCDIC or EBCDIC to ASCII
A customer asked the following question: Can DFSORT be used to change a field from EBCDIC to ASCII?

Translation features of INREC, OUTREC and OUTFIL make it easy to:
• Change ASCII characters to their equivalent EBCDIC characters using the default standard TCP/IP service ASCII-to-EBCDIC table.
• Change EBCDIC characters to their equivalent ACSCII characters using the default standard TCP/IP service EBCDIC-to-ASCII table.

Here's how you could change EBCDIC characters to ASCII characters in a 100-byte character field starting at
position 51 and in a 40-byte character field starting in position 301, in an FB data set with an LRECL of 500:
OUTREC OVERLAY=(51:51,100,TRAN=ETOA,
301:301,40,TRAN=ETOA)

Of course, you could change the case in the entire record as well. For example, here's how you could change
ASCII to EBCDIC in the records of an FB data set with an LRECL of 200:
OUTREC BUILD=(1,200,TRAN=ATOE)

And here's how you could change EBCDIC to ASCII in the records of a VB data set with any LRECL:
OUTREC BUILD=(1,4,5,TRAN=ETOA)

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 7:30 pm
by BillyBoyo
TRAN=ETOA is part of SORT, not part of ICETOOL. I think the question is how to use TRAN=ETOA in ICETOOL.

However, since OPTION COPY or SORT FIELDS=COPY will be the same as the simple ICETOOL COPY, then I asked to try to get more information...

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:51 pm
by skolusu
gauravuppal11,

Your JCL is a mess. Your job should have a TOOLIN statement which Contains ICETOOL control statements. You have it under Toolmsg dd.

use the following control cards. I assumed your input is RECFM=FB and LRECL=80
//TOOLIN   DD *
  COPY FROM(DD1) TO(DD2) USING(CTL1)
//CTL1CNTL DD *
  INREC BUILD=(1,80,TRAN=ETOA)
//*

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:31 am
by gauravuppal11
Thanks for this. I used this but i am getting
WER001A COL 1 OR 1-15 NOT BLANK

and also what if my file is VB file.

The reason for doing this translation are some hex character on the mainframe file that gets shifted over and the whole line gets bad....and goes to second line.

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:56 am
by Akatsukami
gauravuppal11 wrote:Thanks for this. I used this but i am getting
WER001A COL 1 OR 1-15 NOT BLANK

And what about this statement do you find unfathomable?

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:26 am
by BillyBoyo
Are you transferring data to an ASCII machine? If you are, and you have any "non-display" fields, you will have trouble. Whether you translate to ASCII in your file transfer package, or try it in SORT.

Do you have a record-layout for the data you are using? Can you post it?

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:24 am
by gauravuppal11
Akatsukami wrote:
gauravuppal11 wrote:Thanks for this. I used this but i am getting
WER001A COL 1 OR 1-15 NOT BLANK

And what about this statement do you find unfathomable?



@Akatsukami = Please do not ever become a teacher...I am using this forum so that i can learn some new stuff that i have never used before.
Looks like you were pretty rude on your reply and i m ok with that. So even if you know the answer keep it with you.

Re: TRAN=ETOA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:04 am
by gauravuppal11
BillyBoyo wrote:Are you transferring data to an ASCII machine? If you are, and you have any "non-display" fields, you will have trouble. Whether you translate to ASCII in your file transfer package, or try it in SORT.

Do you have a record-layout for the data you are using? Can you post it?



Hi billy,
we are taking 2 hops....mainframe to linux and then linux to another mainframe. There is no SFTP setup between mainframe to mainframe which is why we are taking this route.
There are some hex characters that are not getting display properly. I will try to post the format of the file.